DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
by Bobo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2021 16:04:14

Love the variety of the monsters! They range from hilarious to unsettling. Art is beautiful and the plot hooks are amazing. Totally recommend to fellow Keepers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Planar Tome of Arcane Backgrounds
by Cyril R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 16:44:35

Very unique and original Arcane Backgrounds. Astral Channel is my favorite (having to be asleep to use powers). The powers are also good, some quite unique.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Planar Tome of Arcane Backgrounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Astral Channeling is definitely one of the ones we've enjoyed messing with the most. We really like the idea of having two different planes of play where the characters can't directly interact with one another but can still do things to aid the other. Astral Channeling was incredibly fun to playtest and I honestly can't wait to put out the finished PPC that utilizes it. Glad you liked it!
The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2021 17:52:21

Fantastic addtion to my MotW go bag. I run convention games and this will a great way to showcase the flexibility of MotW and PBTA in general when it comes to on the fly gaming.

The art is gorgeous, great printing material, cards are an easy to handle size, and important probably to me only, they do not have a strong odor from the print shop, lol.

There is a vast variety of monters and laid out in a great way. I can't wait to play them at my next convention.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Wargaming
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 21:06:08
Good, While a Missed Opportunity

To preface, i haven't played any wargames myself, and as of time of writing haven't gotten the chance to test the rules out myself.

The product gives you what it tells you; It gives you a handful of rules for making & managing multiple units (Extra's & Wild Cards) on the battlefield at once. It also gives you sample units (9 Extra units, 8 Wild Card units). And that's it. For Pay What You Want, that's not bad.

There are a few things i miss, though. Generally the rules provided are basically what i believe one could conceivably come up with on your own in an afternoon. Which for $3 I think is good value, but i wish there was more. Firstly, it only very briefly touches on combat Scenarios and provides nothing in terms of generating scenarios itself. So you'll have to find generators somewhere else or come up with your own. Secondly, It mentions that Wild Cards can only have Hindrances related to combat. And of all the Hindrances in SWADE Core, depending on how you interpret "related to combat", is at most half of the existing ones. Yet it provides no new Hindrances that could relate to combat to make up for this. Lastly, some of the sample Wild Cards units have the Battle skill, which is used in Mass Combat. But since this isn't the same Mass Combat as is in SWADE, i wish it would explain why those units have it. I'd like expansion on what the Battle skill can be used for more specifically in these kinds of "mass combats".

I might be expecting too much from this little supplement, though. As a simple introductory piece, i think it gives you what you need, and i look forward to trying it out. I enjoy Savage Worlds combat, and hope this helps make it more interesting.

TL;DR: All in all, I like it. I only wish it had more content (and then probably a higher price-tag, which i would be OK to pay if it had what I'm missing). There's missed opportunity here, i feel. I hope the writers work on and expand this more in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 12:27:38

A wide variety of monsters, from little gremlins to final bosses, with amazing art and concise, helpful text. Awesome deck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Deck of Monsters (for Monster of the Week)
by Noah C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 12:21:09

A wonderful collection of easy to use monsters, with fabulous art! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tokusatsu: Kaiju, Mechs, and Heroes for Savage Worlds
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2020 15:27:01

This one is really fun. There aren't a ton of games out there that let you knock down buildings and throw trains at each other. This one does. For me, it's more of a one-shot now and again product, but I don't mean that as a knock, the genre just isn't something I could play long term. If you LOVE the genre, then a campaign would be a real and wonderful thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tokusatsu: Kaiju, Mechs, and Heroes for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GenePals: A Monster Taming Ruleset for Savage Worlds
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2020 12:41:18

For the past few days I have soloed my way through GenePals: A Monster Taming Ruleset for Savage Worlds. It is available at DriveThruRPG as free/pay what you want. Lately, Savage Worlds has been getting on my nerves, so I used The Exodus System to play it. It is available at DriveThruRPG for $2.80. The adventure is for a Game Master and several player characters. It is a ruleset, and has all of the pieces to make an adventure. I rolled up two male characters and one of the characters had a female companion. On day one the three of them captured five of the GenePals (think Pokemon) at the GenePals Park (think Jurassic Park). At this point the Smooth-talker saw an attractive female at the petting zoo. So, since he was in the "catch them all" frame of mind, he asked her out for dinner and they ended up having a different kind of adventure. On day two, the four of them went down to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. They heard loud noises in the kitchen and then a female scream. Next, a monstrous GenePal comes out to take their order wearing a torn skirt and an apron. The adventurers went into attack mode (we did not have all of our weapons) and captured this GenePal as it was trying to get to its cleaver. We had to fight our way back to our room, back down to the lobby, through the park, and all the way to the spaceport. During this mess the new girlfriend died along with her GenePal (stupid dice). Quick Draw was able to capture six more GenePals. They had no idea what went wrong at the park, they were just glad to get the heck out of there. So, our total score was 11 captured GenePals. How many will you capture?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GenePals: A Monster Taming Ruleset for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Friends of the Mask, a Savage Worlds and SCP One Sheet
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2019 12:39:53

I loved it. It is quite bare bones as far as story goes, but that is whats to be expected for a one sheet. It leaves a lot of room for a GM to play around with, or set things up. For example when I ran it I started it with a 1 hour RP only session of the players characters all being assigned to test SCP 261 the vending machine that dispenses random food that gets weirder the longer its used in a day. It really set up a good lul and built tension, also gave options for them to ask general questions that could fill out lore and give little lore bits that would be prevelant for the upcoming fight. The fight itself with the doctor posessed by the mask is really nasty, especially if it possesses a player character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Friends of the Mask, a Savage Worlds and SCP One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Spiders for Savage Worlds
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 23:08:56

This is one of my favorite RPG purchases in quite a while. My players were creeped out long before they met the spiders. I gave them every clue: Webs in the path, movement in the shadows, egg sacks in the foliage... and they were utterly unprepared for the special horror of a spider type I chose from this book. Each type is creepy and deadly and probably requires a different combat strategy. But mostly, each is completely fresh and not at all what your players are expecting.

There are eight spider types, and two particularly strange ones are illustrated. I wish they all were illustrated, but this is worth every penny as-is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Spiders for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Wargaming
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2019 22:56:39

I ran this as a wargame for 2, with custom small unit rules (1 Squad of hand picked extras, 1 hand picked Wild Card) for myself and a newbie to the savage worlds system at a local game store.

Though my lack of pre-game setup and the amount of talking we did about various systems and campaigns and settings (OSR and classic TTRPGs mostly) made it take about 45 minutes to set up (Most of that was the conversation), I believe that we could have been ready in as little as 10 minutes, and the game lasted about 35 with small unit rules.

Everything worked very well (A credit to two things: The fact it layered itself over the top of the already great Savage Worlds rules minimalistically and with a light touch only where needed, and to the quality of the pre-generated units), and we had a really fun time. The best part is, he's that much more likely to join my future campaigns, because by using the Savage Worlds rules for a wargame, I had the perfect icebreaker to get people interested in the system for RPG play.

I have very little complaints about the product, especially given the Pay What You Want pricing scheme. The product is worth $2-$5 to me and I plan on chipping in as soon as I can afford to do so, likely next month.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

StarStreamers: Rescue Mission One Sheet
by Sophia T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 18:26:49

Wonderful product from a wonderful group. Always a pleasure to see another product from BPB Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: Rescue Mission One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pntr.exe, a Tragic Boss for Savage Worlds
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2019 18:54:41

creating an invincible boss monster that players fear is simple enough; all you need is to create a monster that can take billion damage. Though 'memorable', most players would likely to opt out of such encounters if only to avoid the tedium. A boss monster that players look forward to fighting, not because of loot or easy difficulty but for the sake of experiencing it, is something else entirely; a proverbial itch that this module scratches. It not only covers emphesis on mobility, turn economy, and damage mitigation, but it also saves room for indirect NPC assistance and non-combat actions. Being able to contribute to the fight regardless of 'optimal build' is surprisingly underrated and sought after, by those who had the fortune of experiencing it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pntr.exe, a Tragic Boss for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 19:51:32

Cool story, cool statblocks, and super gay, all for a very reasonable price. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 16:57:12

I've have wanted to run a Lich encounter like this for sometime but never could make up a story to best explain how it wasn't a corrupt evil creature other than "He just isn't or a God did it".

It's also quite heart warming to see what two people in love with one another not have to have it twisted or bend in order for drama/conflict with player characters. If done right the players can come off as the villians against the pair and the other NPC that could know the duo.

Thank you and I'm looking forward to trying this out on my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates