DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Lowlife 2090
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 08:19:10

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this product. Check it out here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/07/09/review-lowlife-2090/

TL;DR: If you need a shot of Cyberpunk in your veins and don't mind fairly lethal doses of violence, you should probably check out LowLife 2090.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lowlife 2090
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lowlife 2090
by John-Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2021 20:38:07

This is one of the first cyberpunk RPG's where I've seen "gritty" without excessive levels of complexity. Characters are made quickly, but still are characterful. Skills are simple, but provide a LOT of flexibility in their use. And the setting is concise, but enough to start whole campaigns. Balancing all these things that would normally be mutually exclusive was a rather masterful act.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 20:55:34

For the studend surpasses the teacher series, Low Fantasy Gaming (now available in a superb revised edition!) is what the (once beloved) 5e should have been. LFG takes the best out of the modern WotC discoveries and makes them work a lot, lot better. Not only it is more hackable and modular: this game feels a lot more entertaining and better explained. While 5e completely fails (to me at least!) to provide actual modularity (adding it "closed box options" which add starting features, but is actually limited in scope), this game is all about good old school feel with a lot of modern touches we all love. Rests are perfectly managed, the unified Luck Roll is a lovely reference to the original game and the amount of available customisation options (like the 3-6-9-12 feature) are actually helpful, funny and easy to grasp. Combat can be as crunchy as you need, going from "tell and roll" maneuvering to actual grid based tactics, with effortless transition. What I love the most about this 1e is the complete absence of hybrids: Magic-Users handle magic. That's it. You can add stuff through the above mentioned optional features, but that's all you get and it requires some actual effort. Magic feels powerful and dangerous while keeping it consistent with the other parts of the system, obviously "Mundane centered" in terms of flavor. Anything magical feels... magical and that's 4 stars alone. I would have completely removed any "meter-feet" reference for a fluid zone based system, but that's a minor complaint and it's easily hackable. I understand the need of keeping things consistent with other iteractions of the game. I NEVER review games I don't like, so it's not a mystery I only give high votes. 5 stars and thanks for writing games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2021 09:40:37

Angel's Citadel reviewed this title. You can see that review here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/02/12/review-low-fantasy-gaming-companion/

TL;DR: If you're playing Low Fantasy Gaming, you want this book. Some amazing additions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:42:19

Excellent bare-bones mechanism for old school sword and sorcery role play gaming without the world overlay present in other available systems. Allows you to build your world and tell your story without having to bring in ectraneous elements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2021 08:14:27

Angel's Citadel just reviewed Low Fantasy Gaming - Deluxe Edition by Steven Grodzicki of Pickpocket Press. You can read about it here:

https://angelscitadel.com/2021/01/08/review-low-fantasy-gaming-deluxe-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 14:37:52

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Little Trouble in Big Absalom (Pathfinder 2.0). It is a fun 18 page English fantasy kobold adventure available at Paizo.com for free. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. There are two maps and five characters to use (and I did use them). I used a solo engine so that I could solo my way through this adventure. For my first attempt I did use the Pathfinder 2.0 rules. What a disaster. My characters made it 27% into the module and then four of the five got poisoned with persistent damage. They retreated but only two of them made it back to their base alive. So, my solution was to try a different game system. I picked out Low Fantasy Gaming Original (the free version). This worked out much better. The bard did catch a nasty disease. Damage was healed by the druid and magic user. After Part 1, they were able to retreat a bit and have the bard cured of his disease. It was during Part 2 that they met Jacques the frogman. He was speaking with a French accent. The kobolds only understood half of what he was saying. They called him "Socks". Jacques did not like that. All five kobolds did survive and they are considered heroes by their tribe members. Give Low Fantasy Gaming a try. There are good times to be had , , ,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by mark h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2020 11:29:42

I strongly recomend this game. The designers have added a number of unique features that make this more than a retro clone. My favorite is the D20 re-roll pool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 21:54:06

Best D&D varient out their in my opinion. The low magic, gritty combat system is just what I was looking for. The minor and major exploits simplifies complicated special circumstance rules and with sacrificing any of the options. the party rescue mechanic should incorparted in all games. Chase mechanic, mass combat, all excellent rules... Spells with flavour and mystery cant praise it enough...

Beutiful well made book (I got the print and PDF)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2020 22:09:36

Great game all around. A great combo of 5E and "Old school" . Very nice art in both black & white and color art editions- I know- I have both. Some really fun and interesting things in Low Fantasy Gaming. THE ARTIFICER- The Artificer is a lot of fun with his weird, wacky deadly inventions- think the Warhammer Engineer kind of. Black powder weapons, breathing masks, corroding spray....more. THE CULTIST- The Cultist is the LFG Cleric- he gets abilities based on the God he worships- as it should be. A priestess of the Argona the Starmaiden is different than Graxus the Iron God. Also gives icons/symbols of the diety, tenets, benefits, etc. Asking for your Diety's blessings (spells ) too often could cause you some uncomfortable effects with Divine Rebuke, like aging, pain, or a mark of shame until you atone. MAGIC-USERS- Arcane magic also has a chance to go wrong or be miscast with The Dark and Dangerous Magic chart. Spells are renamed- Magic Missile is the Lash of Unerring Pain. Sleep is Insidious Slumber. Web is Strands of Ensnarement. It really gets your imagination going. ROGUE(Thief)- gets to choose from some low down dirty tricks like hidden blade, choking dust, or unseen whip, as well as his usual backstab and sneaky skills. The Barbarian, Bard, Fighter, Monk and Ranger are also there with some twists. Thats just a small part of LFG. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 13:54:23

An absolute MUST have for Low Fantasy Gaming. More monsters, magic items, domains, and much much more. The artwork is great. Packed full of good stuff for any fantasy RPG, but made for the LFG system. If you dont have the Low Fantasy Gaming core book- go get it now! (and get this too)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Framework 07: Old Bengart's Mill
by Tyler B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2019 01:34:13

Ran this as a one-shot and it went quite well though I modified the final encounter for time reasons, I think this is a good adventure for people trying out the system or wanting to add an interesting location to their campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Framework 07: Old Bengart's Mill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Framework 50: Night at the Green Goblin
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 13:54:27

Great little adventure. I gave it 4 stars. To make it usable for more than a couple times by the same group - It could use a bigger menu for food and drinks and a table with a bunch more random patrons so you can vary them from night to night. Still very good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Framework 50: Night at the Green Goblin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Framework 13: Gift of the Silent God
by pat e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2019 12:15:21

This is a solid adventure for not-quite beginning characters. There are a couple of storylines that cross over, with plenty of room to add a twist or two of your own. The art is GREAT, the map is top notch, and the 'flavor' works well for a dark little side adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Framework 13: Gift of the Silent God
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Framework 54: Rise of the Starborn
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2019 12:48:51

At first I didn't know what to expect from a $2.50 adventure, but I'm blown away by the content it offers. It's well-organized, the fluff text is kept at a minimum without becoming a slog to read, the NPCs are detailed enough to work with but not restrictive, the story is just plain FUN! and the consequences are potentially far-reaching with enough included to continue and build a mini-campaign out of it.

The only criticism I have is that it references some tables from the LFG system for loot, but presents its own treasure table in case you don't have it. Overall this adventure gets a solid 5 out of 5 from me, I'm very happy with it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Framework 54: Rise of the Starborn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Cheers Christian, glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for taking the time to do this review :) For those who may not be aware, LFG Original (which includes the loot tables) is a free PDF on DTRPG.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates