DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Sprawlrunners
by Qusai A. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2021 10:04:40

I like that it takes on the spirit of Savage Worlds and doesn't add too much complexity. It encourages ready-made Edges from the SWADE core-book as descriptions of Cyberpunk tropes which I think is how SWADE says it should be. It has rules for cyberware and gear not found in Sci Fi handbook that has a Cyberpunk feel, but your game could also supplement Sci-Fi handbook easy. The only difference is that there is no strain with cyberware but there is a backlash, which is more of a setting rule. The lack of Bestiary is disappointing however the things it does adds, like Fast Lane rules for hacking (which are excellent) is worth the buy for its price point. I would give this a 5/5 with a bestiary even if it was tiny, although I hear there are plans to add that supplement later.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wizards & Mystics (Fantasy Add-On)
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2021 16:35:27

A great product for creating new Arcane Backgrounds. Uses point buy system for creating an Arcane Background that uses a method similar to racial trait/creation. I could only wish for some examples of trappings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards & Mystics (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi, what do you mean exactly with "some examples of Trappings"? I'm working on updates to all my books, maybe I can add that to Wizards & Mystics updates?
Companions & Familiars (Fantasy Add-On)
by Ian A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2021 11:03:05

How to have: an animal companion, a witch's familiar, or something more exotic like an elemental spirit.

These questions arise in the style and settings of the games I play and run. And I'm not satisfied with how the Core book addresses it for Savage Worlds. Now to be fair, I don't think the Core book could have gone into the level of customization and detail that Companions & Familiars does. I think there would still be a market for a 'Companions & Familiars' book even if the Core book had an acceptable (to me) way of handling animal companions. But in the end the Core book Beast Master Edge is not how I want to address the questions at the beginning of this review.

I am very satisfied with how this book addresses those questions though.

You build a companion that matches your character and the costs and justifications for the various abilities are laid out clearly. I've built elemental companions, griffon mounts, and skeletal horses. I've yet to find a companion archetype that can't be built.

Keep in mind that your Storyteller needs to be aware of what your companion can do and you need to have built your companion ahead of time before you play, to keep things Fast, Furious, and Fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companions & Familiars (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Summoner's Circle
by Ian A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2021 10:37:10

Depending on the setting Summoning can be a very personal thing and Core SWADE doesn't (and really shouldn't) provide you with the options to tailor your summons. Trappings of course are always an option, but they still have a certain mechanical threshold they can't go beyond.

Summoner's Circle solves that handily and really breaks down how and why everything is priced the way it is. A lot of thought went into the summons fitting Savage Worlds.

For people who want such a high level of customization this is perfect. Just make sure you build your companion and discuss what it can do with your Storyteller ahead of time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Summoner's Circle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sprawlrunners
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2020 12:21:03

What a beauty this one is. I really like the oldschool Shadowrun vibe it has. That's exactly what I was looking for. I'm gonna start me a Savage Shadowrun group based on it. Thanks so much to everyone involved in the making.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Expanded Wealth
by M. &. A. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2020 22:27:10

Super handy rules to expand the Wealth systemrules in the core book. This gives more options and detail to the Wealth Die system. Definitely worth the purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Wealth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iconic Heroes for Treasure Hunter Adventures
by Greg L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2020 20:07:22

The heroes presented in this PDF are identical mechanically to the archetype characters presented in the Treasure Hunter Adventures PDF, so if you have that PDF you don't need this PDF. However the characters presented here are fleshed out and have backstories that tie some of them together so if you don't want to do the work, you can grab this and use it at a convention as the PDF has one character per page and has room for note taking for the Player.

Pros - Fleshed out backstories tying characters to each other

Cons - Needs some proofreading and characters need some balancing. Some characters only have 10 or 11 skill points assigned and one character has Boating d5 for a skill.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Iconic Heroes for Treasure Hunter Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review, Greg! I'll take a look and clean up the errors.
Treasure Hunter Adventures
by Greg L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2020 20:01:07

I stumbled upon this and was immediately hooked. It is a modern day Treasure Hunt inspired by the movies National Treasure, Indiana Jones, The Mummy, and The Goonies. I ran the example adventure "Roger's Rangers and the Lost Madonna" last night and my players had a blast with it! I am now planning to make a campaign using the other materials and sprinkling in my own content.

Pros - This PDF and the other PDFs in the series (THA2, THA3 etc) give advice on creating adventures and campaigns for a modern treasure hunting setting. It is has a decent amount of information and gives you an example adventure, with handouts and maps, and some archetype characters to run through it. It is a great guide and is well worth the price. I will be purchasing all future content in this series.

Cons - There are some typos and the archetype characters need some tweaking. Some only had 10 or 11 skill points assigned.

Overall - Great content for a great price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasure Hunter Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Archetypes
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2020 05:34:29

Another incredible product from Richard 'Zadmar' Woolcock. Each archetype comes with a pair of high-quality illustrations (male and female), story hooks, and five versions statted out in Ranks from Novice to Legendary. Well-written and professionally laid out--I couldn't even find any typos! A great product at a great price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ETU: East Texas University
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2020 18:00:04

WHAT WORKS: Thanks to the University spin, this setting REALLY stands out, and it gets even better with all the quirky tables (I love the Adventure Generator, as well as things like the Used Car quirks). It has the same sense of fun as the campier elements of Deadlands, or the better Supernatural episodes (just more localized). A fun twist on a genre that's kinda been done to death, supported by strong setting rules, as well as Edges and Hindrances.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Sure seems like game balance could get thrown out the window if that's the kind of thing that bothers you (I'm fine with it, myself). Also, the Research Adventures chart is too specific for being so small...seems like it could potentially get repetitive.

CONCLUSION: Obviously, anticipation was high for this, given how quickly it hit its goal...I love it. The sense of fun is very high, but it's still a lot scarier than a lot of games, given that you aren't likely to develop real equalizers in your war against the supernatural until you become Juniors or Seniors. I intend to back it, just working out what pledge level, and have high hopes for the Plot Point Campaign after reading this. Great stuff, especially if you're convinced Savage Worlds can't do anything different.

For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/05/tommys-take-on-east-texas-university.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands: The Weird West VTT Bennies
by Roy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 10:54:58

The art is good, but the bennies are very flat. I wanted them to look more like a poker chip in my VTT, with a proper drop shadow and a little perspective. Still a good product, but it has room for improvement.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West VTT Bennies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Archetypes
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 00:46:31

Richard Woolcock strikes gold again. These are great archetypes, ready to use at the game table. Well designed and well written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Distant Journeys
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 00:40:01

Fantastic product. Breaks the journey down in an easy to understand way that works well for SWADE. Nice work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Distant Journeys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomes & Prayers (Fantasy Add-On)
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 19:29:49

I have been looking for a benefit for magic characters to belong to a seminary of magic in my game world. With additional considerations to existing powers and also new powers, this book fulfills everything I need. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomes & Prayers (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sprawlrunners
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2020 12:37:42

I was going to Savage Shadowrun but this thing really saved the the time. I think that's really what it was made for. Essentially it's Shadowrun with the serial numbers filed off and I mean that in the best way possible. The Author really seems to understand the concept behind Savage Worlds and doesn't try to stack a lot of strange mechanics into it just to create the "feeling" of crunch or to fluff out the page count. You get races and magic, and Riggers and the works. Deckers get the option of using two different types of system to handle matrix runs and both can work to taste depending on how much complexity you or the player want to add. That's one of the strengths of this book. It really does let you dial in your game to taste and it's done with intent, not a ham handed attempt to sell you a book. The Author seems to have a firm handle on the deisgn philosophy of Savage Worlds and keeps things Fast Furious and Fun. The only point where I think my opinion diverged was on Cyberware. If you're running Novice Heroes they are going to see a ton less Cyberware than you'd expect in any other system. As a player I'd be stunned. This isn't a dig at the system and if you read the author's description it makes sense to me. They add cyberware via edges but the costs of implants are so great that it really caps the limit on cyberware more than I think some players (myself included would expect). It's not necessarily a bad thing and you can easily change it by lowering the costs of implants or running more experienced characters to start. Personally I'm just going to swap out the Cyberware rules with the ones from the Sci Fi Companion for now along with their accompanying edges. This book also gives you the option to remove magic entirely. It also gives you options on how to incorporate it into your specific game world although in my case I'm just using Shadowrun's history. The production values are way better than most products found in this price range. The art from the cover to interior art is all top notch. To be honest it's better than we had in almost all the gaming books we had in the 80's, 90's. Layout is clean and sensible. It borders on being as good as some of the stuff being kicked out by major publishers. There's really nothing to dislike about this product as the price is right and anything you want to change either has a recommendation or is just so easy to do it's almost inconsequential. I'd wholeheartedly recommend this book over most of the existing Cyberpunk settings currently out for Savage Worlds or use their background and just use this book's ideas instead. Hat's off to incredible value and utiility for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 963 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates