DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Andy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 18:56:10

an Excellent in-depth campaign setting/bolt-on with interesting characters, interesting lore and a springboard setting for your own campaign. There is enough flexibility in the writing for you to adapt or integrate the content into your own game. Maps, character art and location art are provided for those using roll20/foundry (though you'll still need to add walls, lights etc) Maybe scope for a paid foundry module in the future guys, just saying :)

Great work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Mark Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 13:02:04

Since purchasing those years ago, this reference book as been a guiding force in reducing my game prep and making it far more enjoyable to plan out next sessions and campaigns with my players. While it may seem silly, this book was life-changing for me. Before reading and engaging with the entire Sly Flourish ecosystem (website, blogs, adventures, Discord server, Twitch TV Sunday morning preps) I was overwhelmed with preparation for game sessions and campaigns.

This reference changed all of that and I am grateful for Sly Flourish sharing insights and templates that might seem simple, but eased my anxiety going into game nights. As I said, "life changing", as in anxiety was preventing me from enjoying the experience of being a DM.

I cannot recommend enough, and I am a patron now, of Sly Flourish, as a thank you to the positive impact his published materials have given me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy Dungeon Master
by michael w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 12:53:14

the only good book about how to run games. I read it years ago and still the way I run games is based on this advice, while of course building upon the ideas here and even regecting some of them, but it's all based on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Scott N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2021 16:19:28

Awesome set of adventures in an evocative setting. Masterful tweaks on standard tropes to keep things fresh for long-time and new players. Excellent formating to quickly prepare the DM for each scene. Cannot recommend this highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2021 11:19:58

Excellent Job! Thanks Sly! Thank You for the Lazy DM's Workbook and book info! I really appreciate the on hand table charts! The dungeon layouts are great also!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Grumpy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2021 12:12:25

I backed the project on kickstarter because it looked amazing and having had it now since December and having run almost half the adventures in the books I have not been disappointed. The Maps and adventure design is absolutely amazing, and has been ALOT of fun to run. My group has really enjoyed these oneshots as a nice break while our usual campaign is on hiatus, and I've personally enjoyed running them. This book goes above and beyond, and definitely meets the high quality of work I've come to associate with Sly Flourish Products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2021 12:21:29

These are great little adventures that could be developed and scaled to fill out campaigns or used as side quests. The descriptions are concise and follow the "Lazy DM" style, which I'm a big fan of. I have a few nitpicks, which is why I didn't rate 5 stars:

  • The maps are nice, but they don't include any location numbering or scale information. They have grids, but they don't all appear to be 5 foot squares
  • All the adventures are rated for levels 2-5, which is odd because it spans 2 tiers. The suggested APL is 3, and I imagine level 5 characters would have it too easy. It would be nice if some of the adventures were built for higher levels, or if there were tips on how to scale the adventures for higher-level groups


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2021 10:51:01

This is possibly the best book I have purchased for DMing! The content is very useful and empowering, with great ideas for simplifying and organizing your D&D session preparation and play. I really appreciate how the material is presented, too: concise, to the point, well-organized, with solid examples and practical checklists. The book is not long, but it's rich with ideas, and very easy to read. I look forward to applying some of its principles right away!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Dylan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2021 06:02:56

Excellent book - 23 bite-size adventures for a whole bunch of different party experience levels (and add or take away a few monsters to push up or down the difficulty level). If you are trying to find a big bang to end a chapter of your game, this would be a great purchase.

Each lair is imaginative, bold, well-thought through, and (unsurprisingly, considering it comes from the author of 'The Lazy DM'), easy to use.

The pdf version comes with VTT maps and a separate pdf with all the monster stat blocks in it - very convenient. I also got the hard-back version, which is impressive quality, considering it's print on demand and half the price of a WOTC book. I use the printed version to pick and read the adventure and the pdfs to run it.

It's got bespoke art pieces for every adventure, which really adds to the whole thing, however, one suggestion to authors would be to have jpgs of all the art as a separate download so we can show it to the players!

So... when's Fantastic Lairs 2 coming out?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2021 08:53:07

Loving this book! Coming up with unique encounters is always a top priority so having a book that is more than just monster or maps is huge. I love that it works some kind of special complication or unique element into the lairs to challenge players. There are also a lot of DMs Thoughts boxes throughout with specific advice for running that kind of lair or a specific mechanic from James, Mike and Scott that really help with that lair but are also great general advice. I ran the Dragon Mummy's Rage lair last week to the enjoyment of all and looking forward to trying more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 22:06:08

I'm really happy with this purchase, this book is a high quality paperback.

There are tables for everything, several pages with succicnt paragraphs of common rules and the Lazy Lairs have amazing detailed maps. It even has the outline for the Lazy DM process. Totally a must.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Brent G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 13:02:50

This is a solid, albeit shorter than I expected, read for focusing prep time on the most important aspects of a game. The bits on secrets and campaign fronts are probably my biggest takeaways, and make me think I really need to read more of the Dungeon World book. But there's some really good stuff on topics like joint storytelling, combat methods, and player rewards, among other things.

My only real pain point is that it feels very focused on fairly low stakes high fantasy games. Unfortunately, if you want to have a fairly challenging game that is still fun there often needs to be more prep done in places like combat encounters and dungeon mapping. But that's more of a D&D flaw than a flaw of this book, so meh, I'd still recommend this heartily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Adam J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2020 08:38:08

Really useful book. This could be very useful for you or your DM friend(s).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2020 17:29:33

I've run almost every adventure in this book and have found it to be one of the most amazing collections of adventures I have ever purchased. The setting is detailed, yet simple enough to start DMing in short order. The adventures are fun to run and offer unique challenges and encounters. I find that a quick read through the morning of a session is all I need to run an amazing session, highly reccomended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 13:09:22

Fantastic Product, highly recommended. It's to the point and concise, whilst providing a wealth of information, ideas and guidelines. Has made writing scenarios a lot more fun



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 54 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates