DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2021 13:01:12

i purchased the Deluxe edition so i'll talk about the physical copy primarily.

this game is... interesting, in the wrong reasons. on one hand, it is accessible to new players to get into, as a ST it is a nightmare to find information, but that's par for the course for WoD books. mechanically the blood hunger mechanic is solid! i like the potential for my players to lose themselves to the beast.

the complaints that fans have about V5 have some merits to them. the discplines aren't unique, i'm not sure its to streamline them from V20 to not make your vampire a marvel superhero, or streamline for the sake of streamlining unintentionally creating singularity, no one stands out and everyone blends into one.

the art is a mixed bag, subjectively, my biggest pet peeve is how the nosfuratu are pretty, which defeats the purpose of playing a vampire that wears its curse. while you can roll your eyes on this and say, well that's subjective. true, however when the text say you're hideous and the art says otherwise, one of these things are not like the other. this goes back to my point of vampire singularity. the deluxe edition alternative cover is pretty cool which i prefer.

if you're a new player and are intimidated by V20, this is a good starting point, and slowly homebrew some mechanics from this game to V20, as V20 is the definitive vampire game. the issue here as well, and this is due to it being a supported edition, that all of the clans and more merits are in different books. in theory, that can work, however, if you have Banu Haqim in the Camerilla book, and Lasombra in Chicago by Night, that's like what? it's really weird. i rather have like a Clans handbook with the other missing clans than one here and one here, just weird.

overall, as i said, the complaints of this edition are legit, and while it has solved one problem for the blood pool, it created more by not having vampires stand out based on their clans and power, and unintentionally created a vampiric singularity, everyone is equal yet no one stands one. sure you can roleplay your flaws and take merits with those flaws, the text some times doesn't support that. that's my opinion on that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2021 05:59:48

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart is a PDF with 44 pages. This includes 16 pages of rules, one map, 5 characters, a 13 page adventure, and 4 stat blocks. The system is based on rolling 2d20. The rules for tests, assists, and momentum are amazing. I soloed this with the Mythic Game Master Emulator. I did use the five characters that are provided. The adventure had a rough start – there was a parachute jump and Sven ended up in a tree. A roving band of Black Sun troopers caused even more problems. By the time they got to the chateau, they were pretty banged up. They started a gasoline fire and exploded their demolition charges which did kill four more Black Sun troopers. However, the ritual was completed and the villagers were not rescued. Maybe you will have better luck. Give this exciting adventure a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

KULT Divinity Lost: Gallery of Souls
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 19:00:31

Gallery of Souls is a 42 page adventure for Kult/Divinity Lost, but I used Elemental. I did use a solo engine to solo this horror adventure. This module does include four PC characters. I did use them and I added one more character. Six maps are also included in this module. Here are a few interesting things that happened during my adventure. After the first battle, they headed back to their car and they saw a guy putting blood runes on their car. When the guy drove off, they wiped the runes off and followed the old car. It went to a mansion which they explored later. They then followed the old car to a house. They broke in and interrogated the owner. After he answered all of their questions, they killed him (these five characters are not nice). The characters later explored the mansion (big battle) and then a temple. Liza could not handle the freaky stuff and she now has an insanity effect – easily enraged. They did manage to break the power that was controlling the Cairath. It immediately killed someone and they could hear the scream. They were not sure if it was the scream of the guy they were attempting to rescue or the owner of the mansion. They did not stick around to find out. They went back to the library for an hour rest, and then they stole expensive paintings and antique coins. At the end of the adventure they traded the expensive paintings for their family members who had been taken hostage by the quest giver (their nasty boss). Give this exciting adventure a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
KULT Divinity Lost: Gallery of Souls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Art of Conan Sourcebook
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2021 22:05:33

The Art of Conan Sourcebook is absolutely incredible. I don't play the role playing game, but I have an appreciation of Conan. This book gathers together all of the art work form their RPG and supplements and places it in one book full of just art with a few paragraphs of descritptions here and there to set the scene. Overall, an incredible book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu: Tales From The Crucible
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 18:53:36

I like how this comes with a way to translate much of this to 6th and 7th Edition Call of Cthulhu. This game has great ideas you can use in other horror RPGs. YouTube's "Game Geeks RPG" Game Master Kurt Wiegel brought up in one of his review of "Pulp Cthulhu" that Actung! Cthulhu as already doing what "Pulp Cthulhu" tries to do for the Mythos.

Also you get to fight Nazis and isn't that always a good thing?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Tales From The Crucible
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu - Zero Point - Code of Honour
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 08:47:44

I loved the use of WW II spy history in Istanbul. The writing was magnificient and the diverse cast of NPCs diverting to my players and to me as a Keeper. The maps gave enough detail to evoke the city but not confuse with the obvious amount of detail that exists in reality. Istanbul was neutral in WW II but not on the sidelines when it came to spycraft and intrigue. This book uses both!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu - Zero Point - Code of Honour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
by wahaj s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2020 16:47:56

Odyssey of the Dragonlords is argueable a better adventure than as any of Official published 5e Adventure published by Wotc. The Art and Maps in the book are also top tier. The Book also offers various other content that help further develop the setting like, 10 new Subclasses (1 or each class), the Epic path systems and a Fame system.

Odyssey of the Dragonlords is well organized Adventure with a new setting that is inspired by Greek mythology. The Story consists of a classic show down between the he powers of evil and good with a greek twist of goodly boons, intervention and greek tradegy and sacrafice.While classically inspireded by heroic fantasy the story doesn't get cliche infact is offers but refreshing twist.

Arcanum Worlds set a tread i would love other companies to follow, that being rather just createing a D&D setting they also createing a full adventure that is set inside the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: A Forest Apart
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2020 10:52:35

A dying species of star-flung sentient trees, ravenous drug-addicted insects, and a prehistoric people who hold dear ancient stories of reunion, this STA episode eschews most combat and instead really leverages the skills of science and medical officers. For that reason it's one of my favorite published adventures. Players can certainly phaser their way through this, but it would be their loss because the true reward is using science-based and interpersonal skills to win the day in classic Star Trek fashion. If you are looking for an STA episode that leans away from combat, this is a great one to pick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: A Forest Apart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Liminal
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 01:47:31

I love almost everything about this game. The setting is exactly what I want from an urban fantasy game. ...and I mean exactly. There are just the right number and type and nature of factions, the way magic and shapeshifting and fairies and ghosts work... it's all perfect. The art is high quality, evocative, and fits the setting perfectly. The way character types and abilities are balanced against each other is perfect. But the core game mechanic and skill list is incredibly lackluster. It's not bad, but it's definitely not good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: The Klingon Empire Gamemaster Toolkit
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 08:10:03

For a GM running a Klingon based game, especially with players new to the system, this is a great resource to have on hand. The tasks for each station are broken down in an easily understandable format so every player can quickly decide on their actions without time wasted fumbling through a rulebook. A GMs screen full of useful information is a great aid as well for GMs like me who like their information concise and easy to find.

Also included are helpful maps (One in the original Klingon) as well as a short Klingon centric adventure that isn't just flying around and blowing things up, although as Klingons, you're always welcome to do that too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: The Klingon Empire Gamemaster Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2020 17:31:36

I actually liked that the rules are mixed with the story. The adventure makes it clear when you are expected to use some mechanics as both Storyteller and player. However the story in itself is not particularly good; at one point the adventure expects the players to act very linearly, even giving handouts of what players are expected to do.

The characters are good and everything about it was pretty clear for me and the players, but that single linear part took me out of the experience+



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2020 15:34:04

This is the best Star Trek game to date....the artwork and layout of the books alone is worth the buy !!

This game captures the feeling of Star trek !!

The online support is amazing, there is also a free character generator on their homepage, a real boost for the struggeling GM !!

5 stars and two thumbs up !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: The Klingon Empire Gamemaster Toolkit
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2020 12:46:14

This is a very helpful gm screen if you are going to run any star trek rpg game but will very helpful with running a Klingon focused game. The kit comes with several game hand outs focused on different ship positions and what a pc can do in each ship position game mechanic wise. These can be used in any time period. The cover art is up to the normal standards of other star trek products. The gm screen is well organized and easy to read. The font style and page layout is easy to read and easy on the printer if you print any pages out. There is alot of yellow and gold usage which for some in my group was a little difficult for them to read. Page backgrounds were white so its easy on the print cartiage.
The kit comes with two maps of the empire. both are full color. The first is a map of the full empire as of 2371. All of the lettering is in Klingon only with no other governemnts on it but the second map as reference you which areas the UFP ad Romulans are. The second map is from a old star trek book called star charts I think. This map covers only the part of the empire bording the UPF and Romulans. The star systems are all labeld in english an well detailed. The maps are both very good and helpful. A few things would have made the maps more useful. First, if the first map of the empire also included the systems names not only in Klingon but also in english though emerson might have been lost. Second, if the second map also included the chart pages for the rest of the empire away from the UFP border. Third, if the area for the living campaign had been on the map. If it is I missed it. Is this product worth getting? The ship position pages and the gm screen are very easy to use and are well done. The maps are excellent despite what I said. The new corebook might address the issues I have mentioned but my copy is not here yet. The adventure is good and not a klingons shoot first and shoot again mission. Yes I think this kit is worth buying and would recommend it .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: The Klingon Empire Gamemaster Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Core Book Savage Worlds Edition
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2020 14:11:51

Let's call this an exploration of the earlier version of 2d20 and what looks to be the Modiphius model for producing games.

Mutant Chronicles seems to be an excellent predictor of how Modiphius views its creative properties. Namely "milk them of all the short term monetary value don't spend anything time wise beyond short term gains".

Now I say this having bought Mutant Chronicles 3d ed. and this product. I have watched the reddit pages on the other games and veiwed with disappointment in various industry forums as the story has repeated itself over and over with John Carter, Conan, ad nauseum...

Take the 12 page conversion book for Savage Worlds. 2 pages of splash and then note after note of how to convert this or that. Sounds good except when you realize that this is supposed to be converting the almost a 500 page MC3. You can't even come close and it looks like a half hearted try.

Many of the conversions are undercut by the examples given in the document. Take armor for instance. The write up suggests that you convert armor on a 1:2 basis. Yet in the example it shows a 1:1.5 basis. At the same time it gives an example of power armor without any strength bonuses?!?

SWAG (Scientific Wild Ass Guess) seems to be the order of the day when converting characters as well. Looking at Sister Eve and that conversion makes me wish that some time would have been spent in the SW core book doing a better job of converting system to system. Chronicle Points, Momentum spends all need a lot more love translating into SW rules.

I give this an average rating because the very idea of translating Mutant Chronicles for SW is such a great idea. I just wish that we'd have gotten something more thorough. (The writers were operating at a disadvantage as I think the MC3 had some gaps already before they tried the conversion).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles 3rd Edition Core Book Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Back to Reality Supplement
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 04:47:03

Who doesn't love alternate universe Star Trek Adventures? This was a solid and interesting mission with a good deal of open ended plot ideas that could lead to a larger campaign if wished. It had a strong Star Trek feel with moral choices and the Prime Directive potentially at odds with one another. Designed for Next Generation era adventuring there are also ideas on how to use it with crews from other time periods. All in all, this is a great mission supplement for any Star Trek fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Back to Reality Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 419 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates