DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Felipe H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2021 21:44:04

wish it came with a fold out map, but other than that it was a perfect scan and print.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
by Nigel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 19:32:27

This may be the most overrated of the so-called classic adventures for (A)D&D. An unfinished mess, much of it is the product of Gygax's latest attempt at random dungeon generation. And a big chunk of it - the elemental nodes - are there for the individual DM to complete. For something that says "elemental evil" in the title, it's amazing how little "elemental evil" has to do with the product that follows. If you're going to run it, prepare to do a lot of work to make it work. Better yet, write your own. Note that any DM or player who tells you how good this adventure is will then tell you that the DM did the work to make it an excellent adventure. As written, it's just an unfinished mess.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Greyhawk Wars (2e)
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 17:33:27

The counter page looks good and with a little work, the cards should be easy to print out, but one glaring issue is that it is missing a sheet of event cards! It has a few other sheets duplicated at the end, but it is clearly missing this one sheet (by looking at how many there should be of each type)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Greyhawk Wars (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Joni F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 15:35:31

Very good quality! Wasn't expecting POD book to be this good. I am impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
by Thomas T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 11:00:40

When you open the book on the Apple Books and Apple Preview app some pages show ugly markups, so that the text is not readable. This does not occur when you use other PDF Reader apps e.g. Adobe Reader.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Compendium (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ7 The Northern Reaches (Basic)
by Odillo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 06:56:00

Awesome product. I look forward to the possibility of having all the other Gazzeteers and all the forms for Classic D&D on paper. A big thank you



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ7 The Northern Reaches (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
by Colin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 05:47:31

I don't think the content needs any review from me. It's classic BECMI, well written and completely useful in any campaign set in Mystara. The print version was surprisingly good. I am impressed with the quality of the print and the binding. Looking at the previous comments it looks like POD comes and goes, but this was well worth the price and I didn't have to wait anywhere near as long as suggested for delivery.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ1 The Grand Duchy of Karameikos (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

From the Ashes (2e)
by Javier M. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2021 04:42:57

Superb developing work of the Greyhawk setting and adaptation to AD&D by Carl Sargent. Content presents an alive, changing and vibrant world. I find this much more interesting than the bland, decaffeinated contents published by WoTC in most of its 5e materials. Very good quality scans. I would love to see this and other Greyhawk titles in POD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
From the Ashes (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WGR4 The Marklands (2e)
by Javier M. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2021 04:35:41

Excellent content, by a Carl Sargent at the top of his writing skills. Plenty of flavour, interesting NPCs, locations and plots enough to use the setting as a guide to devise a long term campaign or short adventures. I'm very pleased with the quality of the POD version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WGR4 The Marklands (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2021 08:06:50

Bought the softcover and very pleased with it; print quality, printing and shipping were all great. Only downside is the odd order that the books have been collected in - they state themselves to read the Players' and DM's guide first but they are printed in 3rd and 2nd place respectively.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planescape Campaign Setting (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2021 08:03:37

Bought the softcover, printing quality was great as was legibility considering it's printed from a PDF. Shipped very quickly from when I ordered it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon+: Six Faces of Death (5e)
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2021 12:20:27

One of my favorite genres is horror, which is notoriously difficult to create in TTRPGs, especially more combat-heavy TTRPGs like DnD. Horror relies on mood, atmosphere, and a certain feeling of being trapped and helpless -- at least for a while. When players can try to seduce just about everything and suddenly stop and make "Yo Mama" jokes, it can be hard to keep the atmosphere.

However, Six Faces of Death does an EXCELLENT job of creating and maintaining that atmosphere. It's a complicated adventure, but essentially Cube 1717 hurtles through the void to Acheron, becoming horribly warped in the process. It is found by/finds a quadrone, who merges with it, creating this rapidly replicating pixelating curse, which causes even more issues. Just when Cube 1717 looks like it's going to run out of steam, the skull lord Vargo finds it and manages to merge with it, gaining great power and greater ambitions. Unless someone (like your party) stops Vargo, it's going to keep pixelating the entire Material Plane.

The actual content requires a great deal of exploration, combat, and dungeon delving. The party is expected to explore the Changing Island, learning more information about the pixelating curse and what really is happening. After that, they find themselves in/going into Cube 1717, which is a series of dungeonlike rooms. Monsters, madness, curses, and conditions exist aplenty, and it might just be impossible for a group too hellbent on being murder hobos to make it all the way to the bottom. And, even if they do, they'll have to somehow overcome Vargo, who isn't going without some kind of fight.

As stated, this is a complicated adventure. You have an extensive cast of characters, a lot of enemies, even more motivations, and a thousand different ways the whole thing can play out. You are gifted with some pretty amazing maps, but it takes quite a bit of work for the DM to set this one up. It's not one of those adventures you can skim five minutes before a session and then make it work. I had to make notecards, maps, minis, and a ton of bullet points.

All that said, it is a great adventure, especially for parties that like a bit more combat. Yes, there are opportunities for roleplaying, but you've got to be active in this adventure. Sitting around too long can get you ambushed, flattened by a falling body, or worse. I upped the ante by adding in timers every once in a while, which really got the group moving. However, I really did have fun with it, and I absolutely loved how much it relied on Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes. SUCH great use of monsters!

One thing for people to be conscious of is the fact that it uses quite a few madness mechanics, not only with NPCs/enemies but also as effects that can happen to PCs. Madness mechanics can be insensitive or downright offensive for some people, so it's good to open up a dialogue about that. Similarly, the sheer amount of control and death in this adventure also necessitates taking breaks and talking through things. It can be a bit much.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed this adventure and am glad I picked it up. It's also totally free, and the complexity, high quality, and INCREDIBLE maps make it more than worth it. Totally something you should grab.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon+: Six Faces of Death (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monstrous Manual (2e)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 16:28:26

A fantastic softcover repackaging of the old hardbound Monstrous Manual, it brings back a whole lot of great memories while offering a lower cost solution than trying to find an original copy out in the wild. Very pleased to have this as part of my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Manual (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

T1 The Village of Hommlet (1e)
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 14:28:32

The scan isn't the greatest (especially the village map), but it is legible and usable. I appreciate being able to get a physical copy for a reasonable price. This iconic adventure is 4 stars only because of quality issues, otherwise, 5 stars would be a given. Fortunately I also purchased the pdf, and if they ever get an updated (cleaned up) map of the village, I'll at least have that coming my way via the automatic updates through their DTRPG desktop app.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T1 The Village of Hommlet (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Sun Boxed Set (2e)
by Kamil B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 11:28:52

The book seems very sturdy, paper's thick and nice to touch. Being a gfx artist myself, I belive I could make the scan - and the print - a bit clearer. Still, there aren't any problems with legibility, just this barely visible smidge of fuzziness. It's what they did with maps that puzzles me. They are scanned 1:1 and just printed in pieces over multiple pages, without any key or numbers to help you navigate. I understand including a fold-out map in this kind of publication is outside the realm of economic feasibility, but they'd be more useful if shrunk down and printed as tiny 2-page spreads. I also wish the book could be done as a full bleed publication.

All criticisms aside, I'm happy with my Dark Sun Boxed Set, I honestly expected something of much lower quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Sun Boxed Set (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6134 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates