DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Nameless Grimoire
by Jeremy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 10:39:10

Treat this as a toolbox. Easy to convert to any d20 game, and many d6 games as well. Lots of great ideas for spells and spellcasters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nameless Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Metamorphica Revised
by Party T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 14:26:56

This Book has helped me create so many fun little Heroes, Monsters, and NPC's. If you are looking for a go-to to help build populace, consider this one of the best encyclopedias to have on your shelf. It takes a minute rolling out a creation but youll start to have a lot of fun when putting it together. Strongly consider using this to build first before you play. There are lots of tables and abilities that are too time consuming to read and put together on the fly during game time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Metamorphica Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
by Jeremy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2021 09:24:42

Wow. Haven't playtested, but design-wise, this is trippy and amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Metamorphica Revised
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 08:14:29

While using random tables in role-playing games and war-games is a matter of preference, and not all games allow for random shifts of power, for those who use or allow them, this is a must-have book. Game Masters will have to put in some effort to establish rules for many of the mutations/powers presented due to the system agnostic nature of the book. Despite that, most of the mutations/powers are strange characteristics designed to offer more in the way of role-playing than raw game mechanics. For example, something like Backwards Body Parts would not require any special rules to cover it, compared to Sonic Blast which would be be treated as a form of attack. Even if a group has no interest in using random mutations and superpowers as part of character-creation, Game Masters would be surprise by the number of useful lists available. For example, the supernatural attributes, Demonic Phenomena, Taboo (also great for magic curses or acts of spiritual atonement) and Telltale, can be used to enhance the eeriness of horror or surreal settings. There are a ton of ideas buried within the text and tables to mine with this book. Most of all, GMs are not obligated to use the book "as is"; if the game rules you are using already feature similar content, the rules can override the book. Or, if you don't like certain descriptions, you can change them outright. You get a fair amount of page margin to write short notes, and you also get a few blank pages at the end to make longer notes.

While the original edition, as a file, is free and is good in its own right, the Revised edition is an all around better book due to all the added content and the better layout. The enhanced layout makes it like a dictionary when looking for desired content. For example, full-page black & white images are used to visually divide each section, appearing as thin black lines when the book is closed, along with edge index markers to show you what section you are on, which appear as thick black bars when the book is closed. Like a dictionary, the Mutation Descriptions section includes the category and alphabetical listing on the top margins of each page. As great as the indexing is, you will still find some entries really useful enough to add your own sticky tabs to them.

Buyers should also be mindful that the book contains a number of mutations of a sexually-related nature that would get really awkward when used carelessly around certain players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Metamorphica Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nightmares Underneath Free Edition
by Érico C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2020 13:24:32

I loved the idea and the setting, but I couldn't care less about most of the professions and their mechanics. Between an assassin and a thief, I would take the first always! Some of them do the same things with little difference.

If there is a second edition, I suggest to make the professions more interesting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmares Underneath Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Metamorphica Revised
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2019 22:01:42

This book is a must have in any RPG library irrespective of system. An astonishing range of possilibities of body mutations is covered with simple mechanics for their section. Read any page and the quality of parced detail is simply amazing. A reference work that also is a pleasure to read. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Metamorphica Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Caves of Moreau County
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 15:23:12

This is another wonderful supplement by Johnstone. I especially loved the Creating the Map section.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Caves of Moreau County
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Truncheon World pdf
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 11:59:35

This has become my go-to reference when GMing Dungeon World. As a bonus, they've added a few very minor things (e.g. to the section on Fronts) that make the existing design a bit clearer and easier to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Truncheon World pdf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nightmares Underneath
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2019 14:07:10

This is a gorgeous book and a great adaptation of the basics of B/X D&D. Easy to run at the table and straightforward character-building and play rules, and the setting is absolutely fascinating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmares Underneath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nameless Grimoire
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2019 13:54:42

Whether you play The Nightmares Underneath or not, this book on magic has a lot to add to any OSR or DIY game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nameless Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Metamorphica (Classic Edition)
by Spencer T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2018 11:07:41

Solid selection! Ended up with a PC drinking something they definitely should not have. Next session I started rolling for his mutations and the lucky duck got wings. Second mutation just changed his arm to a different color, third one turned his arm into a scaly clawed version. Didn't do it nicely though dude was rapidly growing the bones and muscles for his wings and his arm was reshaping itself to fit its new form. Would recommend 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Metamorphica (Classic Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DW1 Lair of the Unknown
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2018 19:01:20

My friends and I had a great time with this dungeon. The twists on the familiar monsters really kept them on edge, and even though they are done with the dungeon, the troubles that they've stirred up will continue to provide challenges for them as we continue our game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DW1 Lair of the Unknown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Full of Monsters (First Edition)
by Jan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2018 08:11:17

Preparing for running this one. Usually i do not like prep work but this is the most hilarious thing i did for a long time. The Monsters and Places are unique, funny, surprising and full of wonder. Whe have a Dragon Cave, a gate to Hell, the Unicorn Burial Ground and a lot more (around 50).

Whats not to love about this? Thousands of things for the Players to learn. Like: Ooh a Magic Mirror, its a shortcut to ... Great. Later: Oh its not always a shortcut to... Where the hell are we? First i thought that the Random Encounters are way to hard. But after a close look i find out that a lot of the Random Encounters don't care much about a small group of adventures. The inhabitants of the Dungeon have their own Problems, own needs and own enemies. Lot of room to join sides, play them against each other, time for adventure. There are Monsters, Fractions, Groups, Cults, criminal syndicates..
There is a list of 100 things you find whe looting the bodies of the Deat cult! Like a soft velvet pillow (don't look at me likt this. I can't sleep without it, ok!?), a Bonsai tree or the key to the Bone Monastry. I hope my players will love it too.

Additionally, there is a file holding only the Maps (Without secret doors, traps.. etc) and one holding only the Pictures (of Monsters for example). Very handy!

All in all i have a great time with this book even without playing. Planning to add another chapter after playing A DUNGEON FULL OF MONSTERS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Full of Monsters (First Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RK3 The Third Verse
by Alison R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2018 16:37:39

My GM Ran a Westmarches game with these Products the River Knife Series and its Absolutely Brilliant! Now we are done with the campaign i got RK3 to see the internal workings of the campaign and its huge! I will get them all, really good value aswell, my goodness, 70 pages!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RK3 The Third Verse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Warfare
by Leonard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2018 18:00:45

Ths is exactly what I'd been wanting for my Dungeon World games: a well thought-out system allowing players to create highly customized characters without destroying the game's simplicity. Even beyond the included options, it provides a framework on which to hang new material of my own.

Casual players will probably be overwhelmed by the volume of options, so it's best suited for use by GMs or players who enjoy character creation as a its own sort of mini-game, but if you're one of those, it will also assist you in building up a library of custom playbooks to hand off to players who just want to sit down at the table and start gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates