DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
A Warrior's Soul
by Wayne Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2021 18:52:07

Bordering on melodrama (which seems Aslan-appropriate) this tale starts as a duel for honour on the harsh frontier and quickly becomes even more compelling.

Similar to Michael J., I would love this as a more fleshed out novel. This story has great potential to lead into a patron encounter as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Warrior's Soul
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller: Makergod
by Luis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 05:36:09

This adventure was so good I purchased the other three from this author, also set in the Reach. Great info on a pretty significant planet close to Drinax (if you are playing Pirates of Drinax). The artwork is pretty top notch and the highguard for the raider's ship is also great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller: Makergod
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Luis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 05:30:35

Great adventure, and only for $2! This can be standalone or, like I did, incorporated into a Pirates of Drinax campagin. Hope the series continues.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2021 16:16:31

i bought both the PDF and physical copy so i will be speaking on the physical copy.

Traveller 2e by Mongoose is pretty interesting, personally, i have been looking for a sci-fi space opera like game, and this game fits the bill. the life path is definitely the most fun and interesting that i have ran so far.

a couple of issues about the book, this issue is fixed with the PDF search function but with the book it's no excuse. the lack of an Index is jarring, like who thought this was a good idea?

another issue with this book is that while it has a lot of great information to get you started, this book assumes you'll play as a human, if you want to play an alien race, you will need the other books to try to play as another species. another issue is that the information for a lot of other ruling and optional rules are in other books. i know it'll increase the size of the book and price, but i feel if it had at least the information from the Travellers Companion book, i feel this book would definitely be a must own for everyone.

the game itself is fantastic though! my player's and i ran a one shot where there ship is attacked by space pirates and they have to fight them off before help can arrive. it was tense, fun, and a lot player's died. they want to run the game again, so we are as of this writing, running a campaign with a new group of travellers.

overall, this game is fun, a lot of the issues are writing and information issue, but honestly despite my complaints, this is definitely a must have sci-fi rpg game to have! next to Cyberpunk or Shadowrun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aliens of Charted Space Vol. 1
by Che T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 16:42:00

Overall a nice product, even with the patchy, mixed graphics. One of the things that distinguished the original versions of these products is the clean lines and simple graphics. In this volume the graphics are good, but it looks like they had to mix half-dozen artists, and even use these weird computer-drawn ships which are... not great.

If you're needing to roll up alien characters then the book is probably worth the price (I needed a group of Vargr as a pivotal plot device for my players), but if you're after the fluff then you might want to consider some of the many iterations of this environmental information on this very website.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens of Charted Space Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Che T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 16:37:01

Setting aside the cost (let's face it, Mongoose is here to make money, not friends), this is a playable version of Classic Traveller. I'm refereeing a crew who are happily pootling around a solar system doing stuff, and the rules are accessible for both the newbies and the 80s OG. The rule book is relatively simply laid out, with a minimal number of "hidden" rules that pop up in inaccessible parts.

Thus far my only criticism is the low-skill character-generation mechanism and the relatively high-stakes difficulty dynamic that forms the fundamentals of the game. Because characters never seem to muster out with greater than +2 on any skill, most realistic difficulty checks run at real-time (you can make tasks easier by slowing down an action) are 40-60 split on fail/pass...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Solomani Worlds: Vehicles from the Rim (MGT 2e)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2021 05:49:57

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 31 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review.

So, now that Traveller 2e has come around, Jon Brazer Enterprises took a bold step, creating the first supplement not situated in the Foreven Worlds sector; this does not mean that the Foreven Sector support’s been canceled, mind you – but it’s a nice way of diversification within the Traveller game. All of this is explained within the introduction, and the book is framed in a way that features a new customization option for studios on the final page, which also includes a handy index.

Now, this book contains, no surprise there, vehicles, but it deserves some kudos for how it does that and how it organizes its content: Each vehicle type fits neatly on one page, with the stats at the top, followed by equipment/traits, and then, if relevant, environmental variants alongside modified costs and equipment/trait changes if relevant. Flavorful descriptions complement the vehicles. If there is sufficient space left on the page we also get an artwork (a few b/w, others full color and CGI-ish). Additionally, the vehicles are organized by TL, not alphabetical, which makes more sense to me from a utility standpoint. Kudos! It should be noted that this is also represented in the bookmarks-organization, which means that this book excels in the utility sector, big time. Actual use at the table is really smooth.

Okay, so, let’s talk about the respective vehicles! For TL 8, we have the rotary autonomous deliverer (Aka RAD), a pilot-less cargo-delivery system that comes with variants for corrosive, hostile and insidious environments. The second TL 8 vehicle would be the Stock Ground Car Racer, employed by the SCAGRI (Stock Car Association of Ground Racing). What’s that? Well, think of a ridiculously upgraded version of NASCAR, but each racer also adopts a public persona, somewhat akin to wrestling’s kayfabe. Statwise, these have a fast (high) speed and a range of 800 (1,200) and an impressive 9 Hull for such a small vehicle. I’d certainly watch that sport, and the vehicle actually made me come up with cool adventure and character ideas…so yeah, big plus.

At TL 9, we have the book’s first military vehicle, the J-235B Trifighter, armed with 2 light autocannons, classified as something closer to a wavesled than a waverider; it also reminded me of the crafts of certain rebels against a dark empire in a galaxy far, far away. Terrascouts have a massive 50 K communications range and solid sensors as well as Recon DMs, making them good recon vehicles for planets inimical to human life.

While we’re on that: In TL 11, we have the Instartech AV-8BC Prospector is also a vehicle designed for staying on hostile planets, but it’s not a scout, it’s a workhorse: It can hold a crew of 4 for a week sans food or atmosphere resupply before having to return to base, but in contrast to the scouts, the communications only have a 500 km range, and the prospector’s mining equipment (digger blade + manipulator arm) can be used in defense, if required. The recycling and refuse hauler once more comes with environmental variants, but also features a version specialized for vacuum, and is one of the vehicles that I very much enjoy seeing in scifi, because it adds that level of realism…and because I‘m sometimes a bit of a soft-hearted tree-hugging hippie who very much want to think that humanity in the future wouldn’t litter. ;)

TL 12 has a massive 5 vehicles: On the utility side of things, the AN-72 construction mech comes with loadouts for various environments, including vacuum, and in a nice piece of flavor, it’s not just used in construction anymore, but also in Mechball! Really cool allusion to a cult classic there, and not on the nose either! The Eagle 5 recreational vehicle promises a fun experience for the whole family, including mini-kitchen and vacuum protection; the skill level 3 autopilot and +2 Navigation DM also make sense. And Armour 4 everywhere? Makes sense. At the same armour, we have the Ginstar 385 family grav car, also known lovingly by its moniker “Pete”, and as a grav flyer, it actually also has some massive storage space in trunk and frunk.

Continental gravjets are another vehicle that just makes sense to me, and with variants for cargo, vacuum, and vacuum cargo, these’ll are sure to feature in games. 1,000 km range communications also make them good places to run adventures in. Forget snakes on a plane! Think of weird extraterrestrial things on the gravjet! Not enough? Want to amp up the stakes? Jumbo gravjets, once more in aforementioned 3 variants let you amp up the scale further! As an aside: I really like how cargo/passenger space are handled in these: The cargo variants obviously have less passengers, but massive cargo holding capacity.

Oh, and guess what? This pdf has stats for the K.N.I.G.H.T. Rider, for the discerning customer whose life is in serious danger. 16 Armour, on-board life support, electronic decoy, stealth mode, smart wheels. Damn, this made a kid in me ridiculously happy. Oh, and the SFS-56 Quadwing interceptor, kinda akin to X-wings, with gauss cannons. Oh, and in case you were wondering, their nickname is “DIE”, which obviously stands for Dual Iconic Engines. Obviously. You know. ;) EDIT: Minor bookmark hiccup rectified! That's awesome to see!

For TL 13, we have 6 vehicles: On the utility side of things, there would be the PNG Motors G118 G/Bus, essentially a shuttle bus for ferrying travels to planetary and orbital destinations in style and comfort. Want more comfort? With the House G/Yacht, the rich and famous can get a smooth vehicle with hot tub., holosuite, wet bar, etc. – all for the low, low price of slightly over 31 million credits… Rather funny: The Chandria gravitic DB-32 news skiff has the farthest communications range of any vehicle in the book, with 100K km, and comes with an armored variant for use in dangerous regions. With long term life support, advanced stealth capabilities and advanced electronic countermeasures, these are focused tightly on what they should do…and gave me some neat ideas for adventures.

At this TL, we also have 3 military vehicles: For airborne combat, we have the P.173 transatmospheric flyer, equipped with plasma missile racks and gauss cannon, and actually has a function closer akin to a bomber than a regular flyer, but without sacrificing much in the vein of mobility. Beyond that, we also have two walkers, the first of which would be the dual gun battle walker, which sports two plasma gun-Cs, and with prismatic aerosoal dischargers, decoy dispensers, etc., they are actually a kind of urban legend: No holo-capture of them exists, so some do think they are still in the concept phase…or, well, this might also be due to the advanced stealth and camouflage capabilities…you decide. Definitely existing: the Voidspace Goliath battle mech, equipped with a fusion gun-x, 2 rocket pods and a Vulcan machine gun, these are the classic walkers with a crew of two and brutal capacity to deal out punishment. Need a lethal mech boss? There you go!

EDIT: A minor hiccup in the bookmarks has been rectified! Excellent customer service! Where there is a NASCAR equivalent, we obviously also have a formula equivalent, right? Right! With ridiculous hypersonic speeds (cruise speed of “only” supersonic), these things are fast and have a 10k km communications range, and obviously, this is a highly-lethal sport, so these racers focus on more picturesque environments. The second TL 14 vehicle would be the medium autonomous cargo hauler, which works sans crew, and comes with the usual environmental variants as well as in a version equipped to haul life cargo in short term, at the cost of half a ton of cargo space. Also, you know, the acronym for them is the MACH truck. That got a bonafide chuckle out of me.

Last, but certainly not least, we have the TL 15 Terran hypercycle G/bike. Open design, supersonic speed, these super-smooth vehicles are particularly enjoyed by law enforcement, and, it being Imperium tech, some loyal citizens are also allowed purchasing them…but this loyalty condition obviously also marks the owner as a target for anti-Imperium groups and extremists.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no snafus on a formal or rules-language level. Layout adheres to an efficient 2-column standard in b/w, with the full-color CGI-artwork as color-nuances. The pdf comes fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks. EDIT: A minor hiccup in the bookmarks has been fixed! :D

Dale C. McCoy, Jr. delivers big time in this collection of vehicles: Inspired and interesting, these vehicles help flesh out culture and how things operate in the game, adding a sense of plausibility to aspects of life that I very much adored seeing. While the pdf does feature pop culture references here and there, they are actually executed gracefully and with enough skill to render them a welcome addition that can be just ignored or glossed over, if you choose to. That’s actually difficult, mind you, and helps make the pdf more timeless, and also makes it not simply a cultural snapshot.

All in all, I really, really enjoyed this pdf. It is executed skillfully and stylishly, and did inspire me. As such, this gets 5 star + my seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solomani Worlds: Vehicles from the Rim (MGT 2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review this. We are very glad you enjoyed this book so much. We corrected the bookmark errors that you mentioned and hope that these changes make the book even better.
A Warrior's Soul
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 05:54:37

A God forsaken cold world where many Ihatei and outcasts end up. The story of a warrior with a dark secret and a cripped ship. What happens when Honor is forgotton and avarice comes.

This is a very good short story and I really appreciated the Kindle reader file. I'd like to hear more of this story and the adventure it portends!

MikeJ



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Warrior's Soul
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Referee's Aid 1: Among the Trojans
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2021 12:42:21

This is a nice fairly-detailed community with its own economics and factions that can be dropped into just about any canon system with a gas giant. The plot hooks are not detailed, and there are no finished scenarios, but there are lots of ideas that any talented Referee could expand on.
The presentation is sparse, with minimal artwork. The value is really in the text. Some reviewers have said that a system map should have been included, but as it's designed to be dropped into an existing system any map would have had to have been modified anyway, so I don't miss it. This supplement does a great job of showing how solar systems in Traveller can be much more than just the mainworld. Even individual solar systems are big, with lots of room for anything the Referee wants to drop into them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Aid 1: Among the Trojans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2021 11:52:26

A solid take on one of the best game systems out there. The manouevres are a thing of beauty and fit well with my HEMA experience. Overall, it's an RPG that deserves much wider recognition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Regina Map
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2021 07:29:05

(Review in English below) Une belle carte qui peut s'avérer utile pour des aventures sur ce monde. Je mets 4 étoiles et non 5 car le fond est noir ce qui consomme beaucoup d'encre pour une impression. J'espère qu'une version plus "printer friendly" verra le jour.

A beautiful map that can be useful for adventures in this world. I put 4 stars and not 5 because the background is black which consumes a lot of ink for printing. I hope that a more "printer friendly" version will be released.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Regina Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Yann I will have a new version with white background in the next week or so- will update the exisiting one so you won't have to pay for it again cheers
Kinorb World Book
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2021 03:57:03

(Review in English below) Sur la forme, ce très intéressant supplément contient les éléments suivants :

  • Une superbe couverture qui représente Kinorb vu de l'espace, ce qui permet de ce mettre très vite dans l'ambiance.
  • Une page de présentation rapide du monde.
  • Trois pages de cartes, encore une fois superbes, et de données techniques sur Kinorb et son système.
  • Cinq pages de description de la planète et de ses habitants.
  • Une aventure illustrée de dix pages comprenant les caractéristiques des PNJ.
  • Deux pages de synopsis d'aventures.
  • Une page blanche.
  • Une carte régionale sur deux pages.

Sur le fond, on a là un très bon supplément, rapidement exploitable. La lecture est agréable et donne envie de jouer. Vivement d'autres suppléments dans la même gamme Mister Wallace !

On the form, this very interesting supplement contains the following elements:

  • A superb cover which represents Kinorb seen from the space, which makes it possible to put it very quickly in the atmosphere.
  • A quick presentation page of the world.
  • Three pages of maps, again superb, and technical data about Kinorb and its system.
  • Five pages of description of the planet and its inhabitants.
  • A ten-page illustrated adventure including NPC features.
  • Two pages of adventure synopses.
  • One blank page.
  • A two-page regional map.

On the background, we have a very good supplement, quickly usable. The reading is pleasant and makes you want to play. Looking forward to other supplements in the same range Mister Wallace!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kinorb World Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thankyou! The plan is as follows in order of release - Heya adventure book is nearly finished, which involves a runaway high tech Imperial Ship, ancient intelligence, heart of darkness style jungle river expedition, an alien race (zurphani) plus hovercraft! Its a big one so its taken me a while. An Adventure on Yori involving interclan warfare with Imperial Corporations and the Zurphani A world map book for Regina Subsector An adventure book for Pixie- this is a while off put it ties in with the events on Heya An Expanded Yori book Hope you enjoy and I wish I could write in your native language, it would make life a little easier for you. Cheers
Rachando
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 11:39:01

Rachando is a free trader who works his way into the royal court of the floating palace of Drinax. The floating palace is the last remaining bastian of the once-great Sindal Empire that ruled over most of the sector for thousands of years. Now all that remains are the descendents of the nobles who fled the surface of the planet before it was bombed into oblivion by the Empire's enemies two centuries earlier. Everyone living in the palace is the descendent of a noble of that Empire and has their own inherited titles for worlds dozens of light years away that they no longer have any real power over. They live surrounded by opulant art and relics of the Empire but have had to build catchbasins on the roof of the floating palace to provide drinking water. Rachando gains the favor of the king by offering raw materials and imported fruits and vegetables rather than the frivolous luxuries every other merchant has offered there. Once he has gotten on the king's good side he also offers to run an errand for him...

This is more backstory for one of the significant NPCs in The Pirates of Drinax campaign more than it is a stand-alone story. At the end of the story Rachando is basically where the travellers will meet him at the beginning of The Pirates of Drinax.

The story lays out some of Rachando's history, his motivations, and it describes the all-robot crew of his ship the Invisible Hand. It will be a useful read for a GM running The Pirates of Drinax as it helps flesh out one of the more significant NPCs and gives a taste of what life in the floating palace of Drinax is like. It gives away too much about Rachando for it to be recommended reading for players of the campaign until after they have played through it.

It is well-written and interesting, and Rachando is himself an interesting character, but it's mostly set-up for The Priates of Drinax. None of the major plot threads are resolved in the story itself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rachando
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TAS 2D Deck Plan Templates
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 10:06:34

Unimaginitive and not the sort of style of deck plans I like to use.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TAS 2D Deck Plan Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:20:06

If you get frustrated with the illogical game mechanics in other fantasy rpg's.. if you have a hard time wrapping your head around whether the players are fantasy heroes vs super heroes... then THIS game is for you! I LOVE the Legend game system. It is hands down one of my favorites. The game is filled with gritty, dark, realism. So good!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 794 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates