DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Blood & Justice: Welcome to Nocturne
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 17:18:37

Love letter to the comics of the 1990s. Excellent setting. Worth your time. Part "The Crow", part "Batman: TAS", a touch of Wildcards. Nocturne is a beautifully well realized and highly detailed campaign setting. I was particularly happy with the location and NPC specific plot seeds. You could run a complete campaign for months on end just based on these ideas. Highly recomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Justice: Welcome to Nocturne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Devin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2021 10:28:14

Excellent book for running a superhero game and a great diversity of powers. Great printing job and no smudges on the pages themselves.

My only issue is when I ordered the premium hardback and it came in with some bent corners and a unremovable fingerprint on the back from when they were putting the laminate on the covers.

Otherwise, I love it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the very kind words! Unfortunately, we at Evil Beagle Games have no direct control over the printing and shipping process, and I do apologize that your book had damage. However, DriveThruRPG's customer service is absolutely the best; if you reach out directly to them and provide images of the damage, they will almost certainly process a replacement for you. Glad you enjoy our game! - Sean Patrick Fannon
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2021 23:02:15

This has quickly become my favorite modern super hero RPG. It can handle any supers situation, any power level, has a great mix of (light) crunch and cinematic story telling. It comes up with a lot of great mechanics for handling minions making it quick and easy to run combat with dozens of minions. Another great invention is the "super mook" which is a quick rule to making up a villain on the fly during play. The art is fantastic, the layout is top notch (reminds me of Mutants and Masterminds, but that's a good thing). The list is powers is fantastic, you can build ANY hero you can think of. You can also build in any genre, Saturday morning cartoon heroes.. check, four color comics.. check, gritty realism... check. Combat is not bogged down with hefty math. Character creation is also quite easy with a simple point buy system. This game although deep, is very accesible to new players. My only wish is that they would come out with custom dice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Justice: Welcome to Nocturne
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2021 07:50:10

The Iron Age comes to Prowlers and Paragons

I backed Blood and Justice: Welcome to Nocturne as a Kickstarter, as I was looking for something with a little more grit than than the 4 Color world of Prowlers and Paragons, and I was not disappointed. The main reason why I backed the book is to have the Gritty Combat Rules, but this book is much more than that. I was quite happy that the book gives guidelines for making your own characters or archetypes that allow for quick customization instead. If that is too much work, there is a whole set of characters in the back of the book, that can be handed out to players instead. As for the city of Nocturne, the author gives just the right amount of detail for the city (a fictionalized version of New Orleans) to be believable. I was really happy with the addition of encouraging players to add details. For example, what is their favorite hangout and what their home street is like. I highly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Justice: Welcome to Nocturne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
by Jeff O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 09:44:20

First, as I scanned through this, I found the perfect nemisis for one of my players. In a nutshell, it's why this book is so good. The villians are well thought out with enough detail to make them useful but not so much as to box you in.

Yes, this is Pinnacle City's most wanted. My P&P campaign is set in Miami, FL. There is absolutely nothing in the way of porting every single one of these characters and organizations into my game. The locations have a generic specificity to them. There is a place like it in any major city.

The characters are a good mix of evil, desperate, just trying to get by, and wronged by the world one too many times. I didn't find any that lacked motivation and wouldn't see themselves as the hero in their own story. No one is a villian in their own eyes.

Wait, there is one, but even that one is complicated.

I can't wait to throw everything in this book at my players.

If you enjoy supers at all, this is an amazing sourcebook, and like a certain Dracula themed sourcebook, I'll be using these characters in a lot more than just my Prowlers & Paragons game. That is the mark of a great supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 10:02:54

This is a great villian book! It's not just a collection of interesting and enjoable villians. It's what the book does with them. Every villian comes with a second page that describes their Tricks and Tactics, including how they can and will espcape from the heroes. The short paragraphs describing a part of either Pinnacle City or an aspect of the larger uinverse is a great way to handle what would normally be pages of exposition. Each villian comes with three adventure hooks that are more than just simple suggestions. They create very solid bases for creating adventures around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Harry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2021 13:50:37

This is the superhero RPG I have been waiting for...for years. Takes the broadness, flelixibility and balance of Champions or Mutants and Masterminds and, without sacrificing any of the cool aspects, makes it an easy to play, narrative-driven fun game without the headaches.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
by Harry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2021 13:46:31

Great art, great layout, fab antagonists and excellent story ideas and ways to use these villains. Plenty of extra stuff for the setting too, it's a brilliant resource for a brilliant system. I can't recommend it highly enough



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pinnacle City's Most Wanted
by Floyd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2021 13:40:54

I'm a long time fan of Supers RPGs, starting with V&V back in '81, moving through Champions, DC Heroes, FASERIP, M&M and many, many others. "Enemy Books" have been a mainstay of these games since the beginning and having a good stable of bad guys to pull from and/or provide inspiration is great.

Pinnacle Cities Most Wanted provides that in a near perfect manner.

Each Villain is given a background, stats, a brief discussion of motivation and methods and a set of potential plot hooks. There is a good variety of enemies across a wide range of power levels, from minor threats to epic world conquerers.

Lastly, Pinnacle Cities Most Wanted includes a write up and details on a vast assortment of minion/agent level types from AEGIS Agents through Ninja and Alien Shock Troopers.

If you like Supers Role Playing, in any system, this book is worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 15:12:20

Simply the best mid-crunch Supers RPG I've ever seen in 37 years of roleplaying

As said in other reviews, it does hit a sweet spot between ICONS and Champions. It's got as much depth and detail as Mutants & Masterminds and the detail of deep character creation but without being bogged-down by number-crunching.

The narrative style is deep, creative and easy, but if you want a more traditional system of determining success in rolls, it has that option too.

Speaking of options, it also has gritty realism rules if you want a darker setting than that of it's default four-colour world.

The layout, graphics, design, writing and art is first-class and upon thorough reading, there are no apparent typos or errors.

It's also a testament to how robust and well-designed this game is, that when I converted DC and Marvel characters from other game systems, they exactly fell within the appropriate Power Levels (Street, Low Level, Standard. High Level, Legendary or Iconic) with Superman at 226 points (Iconic) Wonder Woman at 175 points (Legendary ) and Spider-Man at 107 points (Low Level)

A thoroughly top-class, beautiful and deep super hero roleplaying game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2021 10:52:37

This is THE supers game. I has all the tricks and tools anyone needs to run a supers game of any genre.

It's system is the perfect blend of simple narration and crunch. Successes give the players narrative control, while failure hands it off to the GM. There's also a complications mechanic that makes things interesting.

The character creation system works. Like some other systems, it uses a point-build that is flexible and comprehensive. Anyone can build anything they want with a little work and a lot of imagination.

If you play supers, this is your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 22:17:34

This game is nothing short of exceptional! Easy to learn mechanics are both elegant and allow the gameplay to focus on storytelling and role-playing. Beautiful artwork throughout the product really brings it to life. Prowlers and Paragons brilliantly captures the tone and theme of what a Superhero roleplaying game can be. I highly recommend this product for both experienced role-players looking for an awesome new game, and also for newer gamers.

  • Tarkenton


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 17:20:26

This game hits the sweet spot between Champions and ICONS for me. It is just amazing. Fast character creation, light rules, fast play, good combat rules and lots of d6s I think I have found my new favorite superhero game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Floyd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 13:28:52

I really love what PPUE does. It's a fantastic mix of light crunch, narrative systems and a solid core mechanic. It avoids the pitfalls of systems like Champions or Mutants and Masterminds by focusing more on what your powers and abilities enable you to do, rather than focusing on minutia of each effect. Simple but effective and satisfying character creation.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
by Jeff O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 10:30:01

Full disclosure, the author is in my weekly gaming group. I still payed full price, gleefully, because it's worth it.

tl:dr Just buy it and play amazing superhero games with it.

I've been playing P&PUE along the development process. This is my review of the best Superhero Game I've played.

Mr. Pimentel is one of the best designers working today. I do not exagerate when I say he deserves to be in the same rarified air as Robin Laws. He is the only person I have talked to who designs games with the feel at the table in mind. He works hard to make the experience of the player reflect the experience of the charater. The piles of dice are not there because lots of dice are fun (though they are). You roll 25 dice when a galactic hero does their thing because rolling 25 dice feels like a big deal. Most people need both hands. It makes the experience at the table visceral. If that alone isn't enough to convince you to buy, play, and run this game, consider this.

It works. It does exactly what it says on the cover. It sets you up to easily, quickly, and enjoyably run any superhero game you can imagine. Want to play the everlasting stone cycle? It's got you covered. X-world games? Done. Are you the fear that quacks in the dark? All over it.

It's crunchy and robust enough to satisfy the grognard in your heart. It's easy enough to create a hero you can add your friend's cousin who is visiting for a week and never gamed before without breaking stride.

I know all this because I was on the receiving end of phone calls to listen to how the game could be made better, more intuitive, more fun. Mostly I made approving noises because Mr. Pimentel is brilliant. Every once in a great while I would say something to help him resolve a conflict.

I know I sound like a loopy fanboy, partly because I am, mostly because this game deserves the recognition. Now if you'll excuse me, I have some death traps to design. Supers aren't going to kill themselves you know.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Very kind, and thank you my dear friend, but if I'm in the same rarified air as Robin Laws, it's only because I am asking him to sign my treasured first edition Feng Shui RPG!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates