DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
43 8
16 1
4 1
0 1
1 0
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 15:47:03

Definitely a great cyberpunk RPG. I ran one of my best campaigns of all time using this system. It has a great selection of equipment and gear to let you make unique characters without getting too bogged down in rules like Shadowrun. Its fast and fun, just like how you would expect Savage Worlds to be. However, compared to regular Savage Worlds, due to the armors in this system, the combat feels even more swingy. Either hits would hit and kill or do no damage at all. It never felt like there was an in-between especially as we advanced further.

I still haven't found the ultimate cyberpunk rpg for me and my tastes so maybe Interface zero 3.0 will finally be it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 00:11:13

When a friend introduced me to Savage Worlds, I asked if we could play a CyberPunk campaign. He ran an amazing campaign using (first edition) Interface Zero! When Interface Zero 2.0 was Kickstarted, I had to back it. I have since run my own Interface Zero campaign to similar success!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Carl D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 18:51:14

Interface Zero is a great cyberpunk setting for Savage Worlds. This setting is more a future based on scientific advances instead of something like Shadowrun which has magic and mythical creatures. Characters can be androids, artificial humans, animal/human hybrids, and even computer brained meat bags. All the usual trappings are here--including cyberware, mechs suites, drones, hacking, megacorporations, huge sprawling cities, and even space colonies.

The history and setting flavor is well thought out and makes an interesting backdrop for the game. There are several tropes from the genre that are used at the same time. The world has had a limited nuclear war in asia, the United States falling into civil war, a meltdown of the global networks, loss of natural resources, and even a land war between Russia and China. Some might think this is overkill but many of these ideas are focussed in a particular area of the world which allows the GM to explore different ideas.

I normally play Savage Worlds and the setting rules are generally welll thought out. The hindrances and edges make sense and add good flavor. Hacking is easy to use in the game without too much complication. I appreciate that the psionic and cybermonk arcane skills stick with trapping existing powers. This is a big book with a ton of material on the world. Some areas (like Chicago) are given more details than others but you can find something interesting in every part of the world.

The artwork is well done and makes this a very attractive book. Except for a few fundamental setting rule additions (like hacking), this setting stays very true to the Savage Worlds core rules. One of my favorite settings for Savage Worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Sean A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 03:21:06

The setting looks grat but the PDF will not print. Gets to about page 170 and then will not print anymore.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Stephan d. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2017 13:07:44

As close as you can get to Shadowrun with the Savage Worlds rules as you can get without infringing on their copyright. Or you know, doing all the work yourself. Although it doesn't have the magic in the setting that Shadowrun does, so it's purely cyberpunk.

On a more serious note, it's the best cyberpunk implementation in Savage Worlds I've seen and simply one of the best cyberpunk RPGs I've seen. The book looks great with plenty of good looking art and it contains plenty of setting information to get you started. The company/team behind it are also great people, judging from the limited (but positive) contact I've had with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Fabrizio V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2016 23:19:31

By far the best Savage Worlds setting, Interface Zero excels at conveying the feeling of a cyberpunk world. It adds some simple but very efficient rules to the standard Savage Worlds system, in order to create a grittier, more specialized and thematic version of the original rpg's generic engine. Furthermore, this very refined and well illustrated handbook gives you all you need to enter a detailed near-futur world: after a satisfying equipment section, there is a huge part that describes the state of the earth (and the solar system). You don't need anything else to play, really. This outstanding product is for those who want a simplier (but not simplistic) Shadowrun rpg without orcs, elves and magic. It is pure XXIth century cyberpunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by David N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2016 06:35:40

I genuinely love this setting, for a lot of different reasons. I won't be talking about the rules, since aside from a few (very good) additions it's Savage Worlds

  1. It's a pure cyberpunk setting and despite how crowded it makes the setting, it tries to cram in every trope into the book. There's a reviewer who claims the setting lifts a lot from Shadowrun. I'd say they share similarities because they're both playing with all of the standard Cyberpunk topics, old and new. This isn't theft. There are a few truths about classic Cyberpunk, the top ones being that the US collapses, the East rises and there are scary AIs busy doing scary AI things. This gives you that wonderful Neuromancer nostalgia that you always want. The book even references Snow Crash, with the crazy pizza delivery driver occupation, which I think some might have taken at face value, as opposed to a joke.

The setting packs in psychics, designer humans, human animal hybrids, full body cyborgs, androids, bioroids and Blade Runner style replicants with limited lifespans. It deals with the descrimination that all are traditionally treated with in such stories, as well as the implications. It doesn't do anything new, but it does do everything you expected.

Best of all, it doesn't act like cybernetics makes you evil. It acknowledges the psychological issues involved with changing yourself, but the rules deal more with the physical and neural strain of modifying yourself, than the danger of flipping out and going psycho because you've lost your humanity.

  1. The setting deals with basically the entire world. The book literally has an overview of everywhere, as well as containing conversations spaced throughout dealing with the prejudices of the different characters and the writers of the different sections (it's all in character and in setting.) It's a nice detail that I learnt carried over from the older edition and on into newer source books. Yes Shadowrun did it first, but I think it was a good choice.

  2. Every cyberpunk disaster that could have happened, has, but they all link up and naturally progress from one another (aside from the AI, but they're kind of meant to be a curve ball no-one was expecting). The environment is wrecked, the economy is nuts, people have popped off nukes at one another, nations are collapsing, you get the picture. Thing is though, it all kind of links together. Why did the economy collapse? The environment and scarcity of resources. Why did wars erupt and nations start falling apart? See above.

One clever edition is how the Chinese communist government fell due to the huge number of disaffected young men in its nation. Real world problems keep on cropping up and coming back to bite us. It's a nice touch.

  1. There's no magic. Yes, there are psychic powers, cybermonks and mecha, alll things which are silly, but find their way into so much of the genre that it'd be a shame to leave them out. But the setting retains the feeling that maybe even if things are utterly bonkers, it's a place that could have once been our earth (Unless we're talking about the Achtung! Cthulhu crossover). Psychic powers have an ultimately human source and the danger isn't some dragon pulling the strings, but a corrupt company or mysterious AI. It keeps it purely cyberpunk, which means if you aren't a fan of magic in you're sci-fi, this might be the setting for you.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2015 11:29:41

I got this game with hopeful expectations, looking for an alternative cyberpunk game that wasn't Shadowrun, but also didn't have the dated 80s vibe to it. After looking at the vid included in the title, and reading the rave reviews, I decided to pick it up. I am now somewhat disappointed.

First off, there's furries. This isn't a bad thing necessarily, since lets be honest: the moment it becomes commonly available, people are going to become catgirls. But they're a thing in the game's world, so if you're put off by that, there you go.

Second, a LOT of content is ripped off from Shadowrun. I should have taken it as a warning when I heard that most of the reviewers weren't familiar with cyberpunk, because hol-ee shit, a lof of the fluff is blatant copy-catting from SR. The BBS-style comments below info sections, the persecution of magical types, the balkanization of America, the internationally infamous rogue AI. At first, I was willing to give the benefit of the doubt and call it coincidence, or their deliberate attempt to give the game a "Cyberpunk" feel to it, but then I looked at the augments section. Almost ALL the names of the augments aren't even changed from the ones in Shadowrun.

And about the fluff. If you're searching for a serious take on cyberpunk, this isn't for you. It's over the top to the point groaning. There are specific sections in the fluff mentioning the dangers of being a freaking pizza delivery driver, due to the competition always trying to delay each others drivers. Not one, not two, not three, not four, but FIVE major disasters have struck the world, which pretty much breaks the record for the amount of bad luck a single century has ever had. Their portrayal of "the bad guys" has absolutely no subtlety to it. For all the high-tech the world has, some aspects of it feel more primitive than today.

I could go on, but it's very clear the authors had no intention of having this game be taken seriously. Which is fine for the cinematic style of Savage Worlds, but definitely puts me off.

As for the mechanics, I'd heard a lot of good things about the rules, especially the hacking. But what I got was "see the Savage Worlds core rulebook."

The hacking section was uninspired, and actually reminded me of a dumbed-down version of Shadowrun's, but less sensible. This is pretty sad, considered all the good things I'd heard about it.

And the gear! I mean, augments are done alright. Their is somewhat sensible. You multiply the cost by a number given next to the augment. The strain system is retarded fluff-wise, but it seems every cyberpunk rpg has discovered the need to limit the amount of augments a person gets somehow, so as a mechanic it's one of the better ways I've seen of handling it, and all the augments seems useful in some capacity (though as I've mentioned, almost all the names are ripped-off from Shadowrun, with mechanically equivalent effects to boot).

But the gear? It's clear no-one actually built a character with this shit. A basic team communicator will cost the player half of their starting cash, but a decent assault rifle won't even set them back a third. It's impossible for a soldier-type to buy an actual piece of armor out of chargen. There are only three pieces of armor actually worth buying, and they're so affordable and effective that there's no reason the entire team shouldn't be wearing one of them. The gear section is also pretty poorly organized. It's supposed to be alphabetical, but what you end up getting is a gear section, a section for augments (which are bought with a different currency separate from normal gear), two sections of things the players couldn't afford even at the highest levels of starting points for character creation, and then the gear sections the players will actually want.

The effectiveness of something versus its cost is bonkers. And yeah, this is cyberpunk, style over substance and all that. But Giant Mecha are not practical. Seriously, even someone without a head for robotics or combat tactics can see they're a terrible way to design a robot built for combat. And yet there are an entire section dedicated to them. Most people won't know or care about that, but it irks me to no end. -_-

Some of the book has paragraphs-worth of spelling typos, particularly in the hacking section I'd heard -so- many good things about rolls eyes.

There is a huge section dedicated to the world and its fluff, but for reasons I mentioned above, it comes off as over-the-top nonsense that, were I to ever run this game, I'd purposefully ignore 100%.

The only thing I'd heard about this game that rings true is the art. It's top-quality, and very inspiring. But I don't play games based off pretty pictures. Cyberpunk 2020 and Shadowrun had some of the shittiest art I've ever seen in an RPG book, and they are leagues better than this game.

Overall, I'd heard a lot of good things about this game, but it falls very short of expectations. If you're looking for a cyberpunk game with a fast-paced, cinematic style, gets GURPS Lite and its Cyberpunk book, and you'll have a great time. If you absolutely must have a Savage Worlds cyberpunk game, this is pretty much your only real option, so it wins by default. I'm not happy with the purchase, and its very clear the creators worked hard to shill their product with biased reviews before release.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Jose V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2015 11:19:38

This book is lush and beautiful. The layout is superb, the mechanics are well-thought-out, the setting is just friggin' amazing, and I feel like I more than got my money's worth with the sheer volume of information in this book.

I haven't run it yet, but I'm definitely going to. I can't believe I missed out on this for so long - I can't wait to throw my players into this spectacular world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Gui S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2015 12:43:51

This is one of the best sourcebooks i've had in my possession. The background lore is flavorful, very complete and never feels boring, It provides clean and easy to use rules for hacking, cyberware and even psionic powers. The gear lists are as useful as their descriptions are flavorful and fun. The section on randomly generating adventures is particularly useful and creative.

A definite must-have if you're planning on doing a Cyberpunk campaign, even if you're not using Savage Worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Rafael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2014 07:49:16

This is THE VERY BEST PDF I've ever seen, honestly. The layers stuff is fantastic, the book is well organized and the Cyberpunk vibe is in there, and compatible with Savage Worlds system. This is a ticket to ride for you and your gaming group to 2080 cyberpunk era!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates