DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results













Back
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters $4.99
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
23 9
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Wally DM\'s Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2021 10:41:28

I dug myself into a hole where my homebrew campaign had a very large focus on solving puzzles, but from the get-go it was really clear my PCs were not enjoying any of my homebrewed ones. Wally DM's not only gave me great puzzles to work with, but it also helped me improve my future puzzles and as an added bonus gave me a bunch of puzzles my PCs never saw coming as they where focused on colors and I'm colorblind. A must have for anyone struggling with puzzles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Laron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2021 06:52:35

I took my time to read through it and run some of the puzzles before writing a review. I can now with with absolute certainty recommend this to anyone who wants more Puzzles in there D&D, but either sucks at making them or does not have the time. The way the book is set up it is super easy to see how hard the puzzle will be and what hints you can hand out.

Top it off with several really neat Appendix that either give you weird Dungeon rooms to plop into your game, a few magic items or a really helpfull guide on how to come up with your whole puzzle you can't really go wrong for the amount of money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2020 18:13:15

Bought this yesterday, put the first two puzzles in my game today. The others looks good and not repetitive.

I can tell from the mention of 30th and 36th level casters that the author has "Master"ed the game. Some anachronisms from older editions remain, like Stone to Flesh, but they're all easy to work with. One works requires knowledge of spell components that fortunately did stick around to the newest edition.

There's one puzzle with 12 keys, 7 are normal keys, but I can only identify three that aren't normal. I'm not going to introduce a puzzle I can't solve myself.

But I've already gotten my money's worth. Like I said, lots of ideas, and the puzzles aren't too difficult mostly. (You want your players to feel they're smart, not to feel you're smart).

I would note that it's good to give puzzles like these while there are still places to explore, so the game doesn't grind to a half while the players who love puzzles work on it. Don't make a puzzle the only way to go with not side treks.

5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Christoph O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2020 13:13:10

I don't know you. But goddamn I love that little book you made. Your puzzles and rooms are very inspiring. And my party will surely have a blast going through some of them.

Good job all around, and best of luck with whatever you plan on doing in the future. I sure hope you keep creating stuff like that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Troy T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 16:50:43

A well assembled book, handy to have the puzzles written down from his excellent youtube channel and a load of never before seen ones. Easily inserted into any game and the 100 random dungeon room ideas are sure to spark the creative juices. Looking forward to his next endeavour.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Nate P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 14:49:29

This is the best bang-for-my-buck DM purchase I've ever made. The puzzles are basically system-nuetral, and can be easily dropped in to virtually any fantasy setting or dungeon. When I need to scramble to prep for a session (which is always), I can start breezing through these until I find one that seems like a good match, and drop it between the party and their objective.

Just reading through all these is a fantastic exercize in broadening your approach to "puzzles." The next time I design a dungeon from scratch, I may borrow one of these puzzles, or I may use the inspiration I've taken from this book to design my own.

Let's assume each of these puzzles gives a party of four adventurers a half-hour of head-scratching delight. That's two hours of total delight, multiplied by 60 puzzles... that's 120 hours of delight for $5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Jose N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 16:16:49

If you are either a DM looking for creativity for your games, a WallyDM fan or just someone who really enjoys puzzles, this is the book for you! Guaranteed to provide unique, challenging and fun events to spice up your DnD sessions The puzzles in this book can easily by adapted to every situation and provide unique ways to challenge the PCs abilities and players creativity. (Puzzles are not always meant to be used against the Players, they can be used to make certain PCs shine or provide diferent ways outside of combat to overcome a certain challenge!

If you enjoy what you see in the book and have not yet seen Wally's channel, please consider doing you, you will find many other puzzles as well as other videos like Character Creation, Traps, Background stories and many others! Also, join the discord community to find even more ideas and suggestions for your sessions and also meet many amazing people eager to help and chat!... Who knows, maybe you can also have a puzzle of your own featured in the channel or some Artwork/ideas in future WallyDM projects!

In short: If you enjoy the book, consider supporting the person who dedicated many years of hard worked and poured his heart and soul making this and everything around it possible!

Wally, you are very creative and dedicated person! That makes you an excelent DM, Content Creator and above all...a Great Friend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Chuck M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 11:47:35

Awesome book of puzzles. I knew it would be when I downloaded and ran the sample door of shadows. My group loved it. Now I have many more at varying difficulty levels. I can't wait to get my hands on the hard cover I ordered as well. Your love of RPG's and hard work has paid off, such a wonderful book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wally DM's Journal of Puzzle Encounters
Publisher: Wally DM
by Adam L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 10:56:29

Great for all your puzzle needs! beautiful art as well. cant wait for my hard copy to put with my other dnd books. makes a great addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates