DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2020 20:03:41

This product is just pure awesome, complete with art and over 70 pages of material. The author makes good use of space and I never really felt like any of the book was unneccessary. im definitely going to be using some of this for my table particularly the expanded hacking rules and maybe some of the gear.

Up front though both cyberware and equipment function on unique points systems you acquire through edges as opposed to acquiring them with wealth or money. mechanically it seems solid but i think for my table we will be using cyberware amd gear in the more traditional sense rather than being tied to edges. Thats just personal preference.

overall i think this in conjunction with existing books, it is a useful toolkit. So even though im not a big fan of cyberware as edges, the overall product is still worth 5 stars and im glad i picked it up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 13:01:45

Truly one of my favorite rpgs of all time. For the longest time i thought universal or "generic" rpgs were a waste of time until savage worlds. I started with deluxe and then this came out. The best part about pinnacle is they don't reinvent the wheel with every edition of the game, so all of your previous material is largely compatible or easily converted on the fly. Magic got a boost in this version, and some interesting dynamic elements like universal spell modifiers similar to SPC2 for super powers. Power points regenerate faster with rest and backlash now only happens on a critical failure. Also martial arts and grappling are now awesome and face characters are actually playable. Also players are slightly harder to kill outright, but that hasn't stopped me int he slightest from wracking up a small body count in my deadlands game.

The book itself the artwork is good, funny enough instead of focusing on iconic characters from various settings or adventures or random genres, it is the same group of players who make the same type of characters across multiple genres.

Its very easy to read, by the time i was finished with it i had so many different games i wanted to run. Ultimately this is an improvement over previous editions my only real criticism is as versatile as the system is ive still had some issues with magic for diffirent types of settings or spellcasters and variety of powers. And i think i still prefer the old weird scientist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Esteren - Book 1 Universe
Publisher: Agate RPG
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:47:17

Okay so a little big of background here. I have backed this project since this book and continued to back the project up until dearg part 1. I know i'm a bit late with this but it's appropriate. So i'll try to be thorough here and be as fair as I can. I'll start with the fact that i loved the idea of the world, the art and even the music accompaniment.

The Good

  • The Art, its fantastic and evocative.
  • The world, barring a few eccentricacies it is well done. Seperated into 3 kingdoms that are basically science vs religion vs tradition.
  • The skill and attribute system, i liked the idea of domains. Much like a skill group you raise the entire group until you reach a certain point you put points into specific specialties. Like close combat > swords. You're good in close combat but youre really good with a sword.
  • Simple to understand rules.

The Bad

  • The system math is a bit quirky play. For example, roll 1d10 + attribute + skill vs Defense. Meet or exceed target number. If its a hit, weapon damage + the difference. So it ended up being something like (1d10+ attribute + skill ) - (defense) + (weapon damage) - (Armor). Realistically we just added weapon damage and armor to attack and defense and did the difference. Either way there is no clean quick way to calculate it.
  • The game is incomplete, large portions of important pieces of information are missing regarding both the game system and the world. Even a basic bestiary would have been nice with templates for general npc extras like guards or knights or even horses and dogs.
  • Expensive for what you get. 25 dollars for a pdf, 50 or so for a hard copy for an incomplete game and simple system where most of the answers end up being "you the game master figure it out" on how sorcery works, who fiondas are, and how to create challenges and extras.
  • Here is the worst part, the kickstarters. Every book starts with a kickstarter as crowd funding. I understand they are a small studio but they manage to get a bunch of random products out while the material we actually paid for takes a backseat. I understand things happen but for example, Dearg part 1 was supposed to come out in the summer of 2017, which means i probably ordered it sometime around q3 of 2016. I just got my books in 2019. 2 and a half years is unacceptable for a paid product.

So in summary they take too long on their kickstarters for a game worth maybe about half the price its actually selling for.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Esteren - Book 1 Universe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Esteren - Monastery of Tuath
Publisher: Agate RPG
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:22:16

This was probably one of their better adventures that can be dropped in most campaign settings. I loved the use of clue cards as the players explore the monestary. My biggest problem while running it was the players threatening to leave at the first sign of danger.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Esteren - Monastery of Tuath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition Quickstart
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:20:27

I wanted to love this product, i was a huge fan of mage for a long time. The game system i just as clunky as always, but i don't like the changes made to the lore and renaming of factions. The pregens are all over the place and make very little sense and arent very likeable overall you play a gang of hobos fighting what amounts to be "the man" i did in all fairness, try to run it as is but like i said i couldn't really stand the pregens or the basic premise. When you have access to that much magic you would think that you could use your basic talents to not live in squalor. I think ill stick to older editions or ars magica



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Esteren - Book 0 Prologue
Publisher: Agate RPG
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:12:32

Great couple of one shots and fantastic art. The game master should be a bit experienced for some of them, particularly in running mysteries.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Esteren - Book 0 Prologue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:10:28

Great updates on an old game, mechanically soun. Not a huge fan of the new metaplot or OPP/WWP



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2012
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:09:01

It was written for savage worlds deluxe but can be used with swade with a little bit of converion for the pregens. One of the best free adventures released and a great jumping point for a modern horror/modern fantasy campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds: Test Drive 2012
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
Publisher: Green Ronin Publishing
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2019 12:07:40

I dont want to pour into a ton of wordcount where on a product you can just get for free but overall i felt the system was lacking. The world and the art is generally fine mostly just emulated the games, but my issue came with the fact that it feels like everyone has buckets and buckets of health and not enough damage to compensate turning combat into a slog. Reminded of D&D 4e. Anyway great setting but i cant recommend the system.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fast Lane Hacking
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2019 23:12:57
I really enjoyed this, I havn't gotten the chance to playtest it yet but it is definitely a good expansion on hacking rules that keeps with the spirit of savage worlds and the best part is it is setting agnostic. So the rules can work in any scifi setting. You don't need it to feature hacking in your game, but if it is a big theme in your setting i'd strongly suggest checking it out. It's only a dollar too. Its definitely inspired by shadowrun flavor, without the headache of the being too complicated.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fast Lane Hacking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: The Fright Before Christmas
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 16:41:01

Another fantastic adventure from our friends at pinnacle entertainment. Like most deadlands adventures this maintains an atmosphere of horror and creepiness in the weird west but this one i think did something different. You aren't gunslingin hot shot cow pokes, you're a bunch of orphans little under 10 years old. My only complaint is the picture on the front cover could be better, looks a bit too photoshop. There are some inspirations from figures like krampus but this isn't a krampus adventure. It'll fit in an ongoing campaign but making the posse play as a bunch of orphans is too good to pass up.

Merry Christmas Y'all



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: The Fright Before Christmas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Queen's Cavaliers Playtest Rules
Publisher: Bold Pueblo Games
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2015 22:08:26

One of the most poorly put together RPGs I've seen in a very long time, the only game i can think of that is actually worse than this one is the RPG that shall not be named. Ill give a brief breakdown of why from the quickstart alone and hopefully save anyone the misfortune of accidentally paying for the game.

General Stuff: The author is incredibly preachy in her political and mysandrist views that are plastered all over the product disguised as a game. Your character's sexual orientation and preferred gender is actually character creation relevant which is completely beyond me leaving me with only the question of "What does this have to do with the game, and why is it on my character sheet." Somehow it is actually a selling point apparently?

Mechanical: Aside from the really weird part about having your sexuality and gender being an active part of character creation for reason's unknown because it has little bearing on actual gameplay and serves no purpose other than crusading the actual mechanics of the game are horrendously messy. It plays more like a board game than a roleplaying game as you basically just go from one room to the next but your actual character has very few things they can actually do in each room. The game gives you no freedom and its skill system is incredibly convoluted.

Setting: Here is what really makes my eyes roll. The author goes through great pains to tell you how egalitarian and great this society is but here is the kicker. It is a freakin monarchy! With nobility and a caste system. Sorry but you can't have both. It is a matriarchy which is perfectly fine for that version of the world but the entire thing is basically victorian era if it was a matriarchy. But the world is better just because women are in charge now? If that doesn't scream crusading I don't know what does. Her underlying message seems to be that "the world would be a better place if women were in charge"

Final Verdict: I cant rate this game less than 1 out of 5 but i would strongly suggest not supporting this game. It is very preachy and the game itself isn't really that good. It doesn't live up to its potential, this is coming from someone who both believes in egalitarianism and enjoys swashbuckling games. Head over to the guys over at Alderaac Entertainment and pick up 7th Sea if you really want to get your swashbuckling fix. There are plenty of good indie rpgs out there but this is not one of them. Read the playtest yourself if you don't believe me.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Queen's Cavaliers Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates