DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Sprawlrunners $6.99 $6.29
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 9
2 1
0 0
0 0
1 0
Sprawlrunners
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Qusai A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2021 10:04:40

I like that it takes on the spirit of Savage Worlds and doesn't add too much complexity. It encourages ready-made Edges from the SWADE core-book as descriptions of Cyberpunk tropes which I think is how SWADE says it should be. It has rules for cyberware and gear not found in Sci Fi handbook that has a Cyberpunk feel, but your game could also supplement Sci-Fi handbook easy. The only difference is that there is no strain with cyberware but there is a backlash, which is more of a setting rule. The lack of Bestiary is disappointing however the things it does adds, like Fast Lane rules for hacking (which are excellent) is worth the buy for its price point. I would give this a 5/5 with a bestiary even if it was tiny, although I hear there are plans to add that supplement later.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2020 12:21:03

What a beauty this one is. I really like the oldschool Shadowrun vibe it has. That's exactly what I was looking for. I'm gonna start me a Savage Shadowrun group based on it. Thanks so much to everyone involved in the making.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2020 12:37:42

I was going to Savage Shadowrun but this thing really saved the the time. I think that's really what it was made for. Essentially it's Shadowrun with the serial numbers filed off and I mean that in the best way possible. The Author really seems to understand the concept behind Savage Worlds and doesn't try to stack a lot of strange mechanics into it just to create the "feeling" of crunch or to fluff out the page count. You get races and magic, and Riggers and the works. Deckers get the option of using two different types of system to handle matrix runs and both can work to taste depending on how much complexity you or the player want to add. That's one of the strengths of this book. It really does let you dial in your game to taste and it's done with intent, not a ham handed attempt to sell you a book. The Author seems to have a firm handle on the deisgn philosophy of Savage Worlds and keeps things Fast Furious and Fun. The only point where I think my opinion diverged was on Cyberware. If you're running Novice Heroes they are going to see a ton less Cyberware than you'd expect in any other system. As a player I'd be stunned. This isn't a dig at the system and if you read the author's description it makes sense to me. They add cyberware via edges but the costs of implants are so great that it really caps the limit on cyberware more than I think some players (myself included would expect). It's not necessarily a bad thing and you can easily change it by lowering the costs of implants or running more experienced characters to start. Personally I'm just going to swap out the Cyberware rules with the ones from the Sci Fi Companion for now along with their accompanying edges. This book also gives you the option to remove magic entirely. It also gives you options on how to incorporate it into your specific game world although in my case I'm just using Shadowrun's history. The production values are way better than most products found in this price range. The art from the cover to interior art is all top notch. To be honest it's better than we had in almost all the gaming books we had in the 80's, 90's. Layout is clean and sensible. It borders on being as good as some of the stuff being kicked out by major publishers. There's really nothing to dislike about this product as the price is right and anything you want to change either has a recommendation or is just so easy to do it's almost inconsequential. I'd wholeheartedly recommend this book over most of the existing Cyberpunk settings currently out for Savage Worlds or use their background and just use this book's ideas instead. Hat's off to incredible value and utiility for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2020 20:03:41

This product is just pure awesome, complete with art and over 70 pages of material. The author makes good use of space and I never really felt like any of the book was unneccessary. im definitely going to be using some of this for my table particularly the expanded hacking rules and maybe some of the gear.

Up front though both cyberware and equipment function on unique points systems you acquire through edges as opposed to acquiring them with wealth or money. mechanically it seems solid but i think for my table we will be using cyberware amd gear in the more traditional sense rather than being tied to edges. Thats just personal preference.

overall i think this in conjunction with existing books, it is a useful toolkit. So even though im not a big fan of cyberware as edges, the overall product is still worth 5 stars and im glad i picked it up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by adam b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2020 20:33:44

Sprawlrunners looks like a really nice supplement to help with running cyberpunk games. There are some interesting mechanics in it that are different enough to make it feel unique while not to weird to make it to hard to understand. Aswell if are having issues or just general questioned the Author is very helpful and kind when it comes to helping.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2020 08:18:12

Well, I've read now the book a few times, wanted to post some loose thoughts and first impressions. So far this is based on zero playtime, just reading; but I have played a little Savage Worlds in the past so I'm not coming at it totally cold. None of the following is intended as a criticism; most of it I really like, but even the small amount of stuff I don't like so much is just a matter of taste and not in any way me saying Sprawlrunners (SpR) is bad.

First and foremost: know that SpR is very much a Shadowrun (ShR) second edition era take on things. Wired matrix, no technomancers, no bioware, no nanotech, hard split between hermetic mages and shamans. I don't think any of this stuff would be particularly difficult to add back in, if that bothers you (and if my table adopts SpR I will be taking a pass at some of it.) But you should be aware of what you're getting.

Secondly: SpR bills itself as a framework and that's worth emphasising. One of the joys of Savage Worlds, as it is a generic RPG engine, is that you have a wide range of compatible books to draw on, often crossing genres. For example, the cyberpunk system Interface Zero contains lots of ideas for game mechanics, gear, and chargen options that could be very easily dropped into a SpR game. There's an official Vehicles splatbook, and another for Science Fiction, and one for Horror; all of these contain material that could be leveraged in a SpR game. (Small footnote: updated versions of some of these books are not yet available for the most recent edition of Savage Worlds.) It's admittedly still not as big as SR5e + all its expansions... but it's nowhere near as messy, either. So know that you've got a broad palette to draw upon.

Now, back to the SpR book. It is lean and mean (71 pages), is high quality, has a good standard of editing, clear layout, and decent quality artwork. That page count goes a long way. All the core mechanics come from the Savage Worlds (SW) CRB, and SpR does an excellent job of getting down to the point. It probably covers about the same ground, in terms of character scope, gear, and mechanical systems, as the 2e CRB does. It feels more complete to me than Shadowrun Anarchy does. It also has no meaningful setting information of its own, which isn't likely to trouble any existing Shadowrun players like me.

So, overall, I like it a lot. Out of all the Shadowrun-but-not candidates I've looked at, this one is probably the best fit for my table.

Now for some more detailed comments on specific aspects:

Savage World's magic system is worthy of a comment. At first glance, it looks a bit slim - there's 40 or so "powers" (approximately the same as spells) in the core book, and they're mostly pretty generic. Not much like Shadowrun's grimoires packed with weird-and-wonderful oddities. However, this is a little deceptive. Each power, when learnt by a character, comes with "trappings" that alter how it works; some of these are cosmetic but others have game effects, like elemental damage. And powers also have a variety of modifiers that can be freely applied at time of use, like adding damage over time to an attack spell, avoiding friendly targets with an area-of-effect spell, or using Healing to cure a disease or poison. So each entry in the powers list covers a lot more ground than a single spell does in Shadowrun.

Something about SpR worth calling out is "logistic points" (LP). Characters do not buy gear with nuyen. Rather, they are assumed to constantly change their gear, disposing of hot items after a run, then re-outfitting themselves anew for the next mission, from some combination of borrowed and black-market-purchased gear. They can choose to spend their LPs at any reasonable point during the run, so they might use part of their budget for surveillance gear, complete legwork, decide on an approach, trade that gear away again, and then reuse those LPs on weapons and such they need for the run itself. There's not a lot of book-keeping here, characters start with 10 LPs (it goes up as they advance) and most common items cost 3-5 or so.

Permanent high-value possessions (eg cyberware, foci, signature weapons) are not handled as money or LP but instead via Edges. Edges in SW are somewhat similar to Qualities in ShR, but earned more frequently as characters progress. In SpR, characters can spend those edges on things like implant points (which they can then "spend" on getting more cyberware installed) or other pieces of durable, permanent gear.

Even lifestyle is handled this way, with the "Rich" edge upgrading a character to Medium lifestyle and "Filthy Rich" to High. With all of these changes, there's no need to track nuyen at all. This is perhaps a little jarring at first, but I think it works in the context of Savage World's general Fast-Furious-Fun philosophy. YMMV.

Another area where Savage Worlds and SprawlRunners differ significantly from core Shadowrun is character power level. In SW, by default, characters start weaker and advance faster than in Shadowrun. This is another trade-off decision that might suit you or it might not. It's certainly nice to have meaningful post-chargen advancement options, something that ShR can struggle to offer unless you play in longer term campaigns. If it doesn't suit you, you can always grant the characters some free "advances" (basically, Savage Worlds speak for level-ups) as part of chargen.

One final thing I want to note is around initiative and the role of combat-oriented characters. As written, SW and SpR does not have a mechanic for combat chars to dominate initiative; in fact, the primary method of gaining better initiative is an Edge that is available to anyone. Obviously, this is a significant change from core ShR, and oner that is is a mixed bag, IMO. It opens combat up to everyone in a way that ShR does not, but it risks diluting the combat specialist role. This latter part might be somewhat mitigated by other SW mechanics - eg. it's more expensive to be highly skilled, which I think would continue to distinguish the streetsams from, say, deckers with a big gun. But I need to play a few chargens out to be sure of that.

This would be quite easy to change back if you find it bothersome. Interface Zero (I think that's where I'm getting this from) has mechanics where wired reflexes allow characters to act more than once during the turn, which is a very classic-ShR feel, and would fit perfectly well in SpR.

So to sum up... there's a lot here to like, and what things suit my personal tests less would be quite easy to change. Savage Worlds is a solid system with a slant towards pulpy action, and with middling levels of crunch. Its classless chargen system still offers character-optimiser players a big palette to work with. And SprawlRunners does a great job of giving you a clean, foundational set of rules to play urban-fantasy-cyberpunk with.

So, yeah. I like it! I'm hoping to get some time to explore it with my table tonight, and if we all agree, I'm quite serious about moving my current ShR 5e game over to SprawlRunners.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Bn L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2020 13:05:11

What's to say about this book other than it's great? If you're a fan of cyberpunk, Shadowrun or Savage Worlds this is a worthy investment. It hits all the right notes as a toolkit for your own cyberpunk games with great packets of "plug and play" rules. Need near-future magic with no cyberware? Covered. Want technomagic built and run by corporations? Go for it. Crave a chrome-infused dystopian nightmare with no magic? It has your back. Are you tired of the gear-game too many cyberpunk settings become? This is the place to be. Just get the darn thing already! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Steven L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2020 12:15:27

Sprawlrunners incorporates everything you need for a cyberpunk or Shadowrun game while sticking true to the Fast, Furious, Fun mantra of Savage Worlds. It’s a fine line to walk and it nails it.

If you want more detail into anyone aspect utilize Interface Zero. They are great compliments to one another and in my eyes both are fantastic adaptions of the cyberpunk setting.

Also, the layout in Sprawlrunners is fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Péter A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2020 08:00:51

I love it. It is a well thought-out and well-written book with nice artwork and a nice feel to it. I especially like the Logistics Points approach to gear, and the Edge-based cyberware, though it makes me want to run games for characters that are at least Seasoned rank.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sprawlrunners
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2020 07:57:39

As promised, a lean toolkit on running cyberpunk games with Savage Worlds rules. Unlike most others, SR doesn't try to add cyberware as equipment, an approach that will inevitably lead to power creep. SR does it with a clever combination or augment points and Edges. I'm seriously considering running old Shadowrun adventures with this and newest Savage Worlds edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates