DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Anatomy of Adventure
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2020 05:53:30

Solid gold. I just finished this book (pretty much in one go it was so engaging). The author does a great job at walking you through his creative process with plenty of examples, honesty, and bits of wisdom. About 20 pages in I realized I needed to be taking notes and ended up with a full page gems.

Even if you don't intend to publish adventures, this book will help you homebrew your own worlds for your table. It will even help you spice up published adventures. Again, solid gold. If you DM regularly, read this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Challenge Accepted II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 11:21:07

Thanks to this book and its predecessor, I now view Skill Challenges much like Combat Encounters. You wouldn't determine a combat based on a single roll, so why would you do the same for an important skill encounter? Chase scenes, interrogations, infiltrations, navigations, and so much more are covered by these supplements. I find these encounters to be very good at giving more substance to the Exploration pillar of play that often gets short changed in my opinion. Players select skills for a reason, and its just not to make one-off checks every now and then. If your game could use some new energy, and some new drama (without adding more combat), check these out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the wonderful review Ryan. We are glad you enjoy both the challenge accepted products. :)
Legendary Bestiary II: Legendary Actions for CR 4 to 6
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 11:15:06

Just like the first installment, this one is stellar! When you DM for experienced players, the thrill and mystery of combat can wane. Introducing new mechanics spices things up and reinvigorates the sense of wonder new players experience. These mechanics are a good mix of crunch and roleplay, which I very much appreciate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Bestiary II: Legendary Actions for CR 4 to 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MINING GUIDE
Publisher: ANGRY GOLEM GAMES
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 11:12:30

Time is precious and reinventing the wheel is not an appealing activity for me. This supplement provided me a nice framework when the dwarf in my party wanted to reclaim a local mine from a band of squatting ogres. Rolling on the random tables helped us determine just how lucrutive his downtime activities would be. This is something I can keep in my back pocket for when the right situation arises.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MINING GUIDE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
That is one of the purposes of the Mining Guide. Good to know the mine is operating...beware not digging too much in depth...
Tavern Games
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2020 11:56:47

This is perfect. Easy to use, not too long. You could read this an hour before your game session and implement it that night! Often tims PCs take proficiencies with gaming sets, only never to use them. This supplement helps the DM solve that problem in a fun and meaningful way. WELL worth the cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tavern Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Weapon Histories
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2020 14:25:18

Tons of inspiration in this supplement! You could build a whole campaign, or a simple side quest off of anyone of the ideas presented here. Magical weapons, just like PCs and villains, need backstories. Details like this give life and depth to your games. Players will be impressed when that bland +1 sword turns out to be much, much more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Weapon Histories
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapon Perks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2020 14:22:10

Excellent inspiration to bring some life to mundane and sometimes overlooked weapons. The bonus abilities prescribed by this supplement could work great as feats, boons, or properties unique to "masterwork" items. You might even jazz up a bland +1 weapon with a feature found within.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapon Perks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poison
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2020 17:39:48

This thing is robust. At first, I was a bit daunted by the page count and depth of content, but once I got a feel for the product I found it quite manageable. I primarly DM and wanted to get my hands on this to help player's (particularly, rogue assassins) better utilize their poisoner's kits without breaking the game. The supplemental rules in Chapter 4 do just that!

What's more, this thing is packed with monsters, items, and specific poisons to give flavor and variety to your entire game.

Multifacted. Well put together. Stuffed with content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellozial's Ultimate Guide to Poison
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legendary Bestiary: Legendary Actions for Low-Level Monsters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 16:39:53

Absolutely a fantastic and easy to use supplement. Let's face it, ogres get boring. The ogre chief should have a little something extra up his sleave other than max hp and a cocky perosnality. This product fixes that problem. Rinse and repeat for all your other low level goons like kobolds, goblins, even wolves. In my view, anytime you are going to name a monster, you need to be applying a special trait or two like the ones found here. Note: Except for maybe bugbears, those dudes are nasty enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Bestiary: Legendary Actions for Low-Level Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Loot Collection [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 15:27:34

I cannot emphasize enough how much I love this product. I love it as a DM, and I'm itching to use it as a player. Crafting systems in a lot of games are bad (5e is no exception to that). This set of supplements fixes a lot of those problems. 5 stars all the way!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Collection  [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2019 18:44:09

I consider this an essential piece to my DMing arsenal. Tons of inspiration. Versitile ideas. I can't recommend it strongly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Challenge Accepted!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2019 18:43:27

I consider this an essential piece to my DMing arsenal. Tons of inspiration. Versitile ideas. I can't recommend it strongly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Challenge Accepted!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates