DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting $19.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 9
2 2
0 1
0 0
0 0
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Darren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2020 23:04:25

I was very intrigued by the concept of this setting, as I think there is the potential for a great supers game built into 5e. Supers & Sorcery certainly touches on some good ideas, but overall it ends up a little too tied to the setting, Ghaistala, which to me was a little too heavy on the fantasy elements - I was never quite clear on what makes the characters super heroes versus fantasy heroes. Ghaistala came across to me as a high magic fantasy setting with some technological elements, but with so many of the creatures in the setting having strange powers and abilities and lots of magic as kind of a default state of being it makes it a little harder to see the PC's as special heroes. Not that this can't work - but it is more Thor Ragnarok than Metropolis or Gotham. And most of the book serves the purpose of supporting the setting, and I think it does that pretty effectively, and there is a lot here with 216 pages, but I hoped to see more of what is briefly touched upon in chapter 9 which describes different kinds of super hero stories you might focus on for a campaign; I may not have been attentive enough to the kickstarter campaign as I think I was expecting something a little closer to a universal 5e super powers compendium rather than what is very much a setting book. The chapter on creating your campaign had strangely about just as much space provided as for the two new player character races, one of plant people and one kobold-gnome hybrid, which appeared at the very beginning of the book, neither of which seemed to me particularly central to the setting, other than to emphasize two main themes I drew from the book - creatures from across the multiverse have been appearing on Ghaistala for some time now, and on Ghaistala every creature seems to have the ability to mate with every other creature found there. There were some other interesting character options in the subclasses, but neither the super powered origins nor the archon class did much for me. I particularly liked the fighter as superhero subclass and the warlock wielding a power ring on behalf of the "cosmic light."



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi there Darren! So, thanks for leaving the review and your opinion, it helps us to prep for future projects. Let me hit on a couple of the points you make! Firstly, I'll address the supers vs. fantasy. When we initially set out to make S&S, at the core of it was that we were still going to keep it as a high fantasy setting, but we would add comic book flavor. We didn't want to overload the setting with tons of new mechanics and powers and abilities, and wanted to make Ghaistala and Beacon as sandboxy as possible. So, we offer the new subclass options, feats, adventures, NPCs, and the other content we have for S&S. We were never planning to unload everything comic book/super into S&S because we still wanted to keep it rules light and story heavy. Secondly, this was our first ever Kickstarter, and we had limited resources, writers, and time to be able to put this together, so we tried not overwhelm the team by asking too much. So, the gnobold and chloryfolk are samplers of what more could appear in Beacon, which we wanted to leave up to the player - this is similar with the subclass options, as we knew there was SO MUCH we could hit on with the plethora of comic book fanfare there is. We had to make sure we didn't go too overboard, and leave plenty of space for other folks to build and create. Which actually connects perfectly to my third point. One of the things we have done with S&S is open it up for other creators to join and write content under the S&S label - so if you want to add more to the universe to get more of that superhero element you want to see, reach out to us and we would love to chat about what you think! At the end of the day, S&S is meant to be a launchpoint for other players and DMs, and at its core is a sandbox setting with just enough to get your group rolling. Hopefully in the future, there will be more S&S products to help get you to that point where Beacon clicks for you! Thanks again for the review, Darren, and your thoughts.
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Daft M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 22:46:19

I love this book. The end result gives so much more content than I was expecting, especially considering the price. The optional add-on combat rules are ingenious, the homages are well done, and even though it helps to make characters feel "super" they don't end up being compltely unbalanced or overpowered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, the team appreciates it and it helps us grow the S&S line! Cannot wait to hear about your adventures in Beacon and Ghaistala!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Samuel I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 21:54:08

While I haven't had the chance to read through the setting in its entirety, I love what I have seen so far. The Origins of the world are detailed and evocative enough to provide a wonderful base to work from, but leave enough ambiguity that anyone running a game in Ghaistala can really make it their own. The mysteries of the world presented both make me want to discover their answers as a player, and come up with my own to present to my friends. The art is amazing and provides glimpses of fantastic landscapes and a variety of heroic characters. Overall Supers and Sorcery is a fantastic setting for those looking to add a different kind of hero to their high fantasy adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, Sam! It helps immensely in generating the community and support behind S&S, so we appreciate the wonderful words! Make sure to keep us in the loop on any adventures in Ghaistala!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Audrey P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 12:10:10

I was an early-bird backer for the kickstarter and am now figuring out what group to play this with. Everything is well thought out, from character options to all the portions of the gazeteer. I can't wait to play one of the one-shots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Audrey! Make sure to keep us in the loop on how the one shot goes, and any future adventures in Beacon!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Callum G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 11:12:40

I don't know where to start with this book except for WOW! I am so glad to have been a kickstarter backer for this product! To be able to take a fantasy-heavy rpg like D&D and to convert it into a superhero extravaganza is one thing, but, to fill it with this much lore and rich detail is something otherworldly. From the deftly created city of Beacon to its surroundings this book has everything any Dungeon Master or indeed Player could need to embed themselves in the world of superheroes.

Locations come to life with grandiose descriptions but are also grounded by the childhood joy of being a superhero. Villains and Kaiju feel like they all come with their own threat and the minion statblock is something I am so happy to see in here.

The artwork brought a smile to my face every time I stumbled across it, if I'm honest it just broadened my smile because of how joyful this book made me feel.

My mind races with both character possibilities and story possibilities for this setting. Even if the stories don't pay off this book offers adventures across THREE tiers of play!!

There really is something for everyone in this book and I implore anyone who has even just glanced at it and thought "that's cool" to pick up a copy. You will not regret it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Callum! Part of our goal with S&S was to bring out the kid in everyone with our zany and exciting book. Hopefully that joy grows and grows with every time you crack it open and dive in!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by The O. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 10:39:03

What an amazing product! This combines all the great things that I have loved since my childhood, comics and Dungeons and Dragons. First, the art is beautfully done and is an extra layer of greatness in this PDF. Secondly, the attention to detail in all the information if perfect. I can't wait to start building my own "super" and dive into the adventure. My group was so excited to be soon be able to play the adventure that comes inside the book. I love that amazing stuff that if being published these days with all the great, creative writers out there. What a time to be alive! Well done, you all have knocked it out of the park.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hello! Thank you so so much for the kind words, we really appreciate it. We made S&S for folks like you who just needed to hit that combination itch. Make sure to keep us in the loop of your group's adventures in Beacon and on Ghaistala!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Julia P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2020 16:18:38

After backing this on Kickstarter, I was excited to finally get it, and it did not disappoint. I was excited to see that S&S added archetypes to existing classes rather than just creating all new classes, and so it still feels like D&D. The game mechanics are fantastic, adding material that can be used in the S&S setting OR your own setting with optional rules designed to make the game as "super" as you want.

The setting is also excellent comic-book fare, filled with the sorts of organizations and complications that flavor the best comic universes. And there's numerous campaign and adventure hooks in the book to help you figure out a great Supers game in the setting.

All in all, this is a great book for people who love comics and supers or even just love to collect 5e rules options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review Julia, we really appreciate it! We are glad that S&S is able to bring you so much joy and comic book love!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by René R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2020 15:12:38

This is the game i´ve been waiting for so long.. I´m so happy to have it yet and I´m so excited to play it the first time.. what i´ve seen yet is that you´ve done a great job so far..



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Rene! Means everything!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Dean L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2020 13:37:44

So after pouring over this for the last couple of days I can say its a pretty solid product. Some aspects are a bit kid like but it is still a very good product. I see having many days with the grandchildren introducing them to fantasy as well as supers with this product. I like the way all the characters are standard D&D characters with a nice twist. The Archon is an excellent character class addition. Overall this is great purchase. If you like Supers, D&D and gaming then this is a game for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
We are happy to hear that you enjoy the book, and LOVE that this is a gateway for your grandkids into the worlds of comic books and fantasy. That was a massive goal that we were shooting for, and we are glad to see it resonating!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2020 13:22:31

The book does a really good job at going indepth into everything that it adds, from 2 new species, to a new class and new subclasses that are all fairly fleshed out and unique from base game. There is a new way to deepen your characters backstory and diversify each character which is really fleshed out, with 4 different catgeories that provide different benefits to help flesh out your character. A majority of the book is dedicated to fleshing out the base world of the book, which helps to set the tone of the world and start to provide an image of the sort of world a GM will be running in a campaign. The last few chapters are dedicated to a mock adventure which is very much appreciated as it helps to look at to start making ones own campaign based in a similar world or to run it as a One shot. At the end there's a couple appendix's that provide important NPCs, new dungeons, called lairs and new monsters. Overall, the book is put together real well, with a unique style to itself. It provides fleshed out components that it brings into the game, and information that greatly assists GM's in running their own campaign or a One Shot based off of the setting of the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the review, Thomas, we appreciate it immensely! We love to hear how our readers enjoy our projects!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2020 13:18:37

Amazing! I havent fijished reading everything yet but i cant wait to run a game with this! Tons of great characters too. The art is fantastic as well. This is high quality across the board!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Michael! We had a great team who has brought this together! All the credit is theirs!
Supers & Sorcery - 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Daylight Publications
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2020 17:07:42

Supes and Sorcery from Cameron Day (@daylightpub1066) & Adam Hancock (@AdamMakesTTRPG)

This is just the tiniest glimpse of my joy, love and excitement at getting my hands on this project and taking a brief look while my breath caught in my chest and my heart beat a bass drum rhythm to my palpable excitement and awestruck amazement!

This is over 200 pages of BIFF POW ZAP SCHLOCK, wonderful ideas lore, new races, classes (I NEED AN ARCHON RIGHT STAT NOW!), subclasses for all the standard classes, feats, spells, origins/ backgrounds, alter egos, Sidekicks, gazetteer of the World of Heroes, organisations, notable NPCs, advice on running various super moods and themes magic items, villains and monsters, lairs and strongholds, kaiju and THREE FREAKING EPIC ADVENTURES, introductory, mid tier and ultimate beat down with the flipping HYPER DEMON! I am too excited to think!

There’s just so much here presented so beautifully with some truly astounding artwork.

The folx working on this have poured their hearts, souls and radioactive spiders into this and it truly shows! They should all be so proud! I’m in another dimension of Hype outside the material plane! Gobsmacked!

I will be back and vengeance this thing in detail when I have the capacity and free time!

Credits Producers: Cameron Day, Adam Hancock Writers: Robert Beverly, Bianca Bickford, Drew Dawes, Cameron Day, Jackson Lewis, Sadie Lowry, Jimmy Meritt, Steve Pankotai, Noah Simpson, Lydia Van Hoy Editors: Adam Hancock, Sadie Lowry Layout & Graphic Design: Anne Gregersen Cover Artist: Dheeraj Verma Artists: Mariana Bergo, Dana Braga, Ruben Cardenas, Claudio Casini, A.E. Coggon, Daniel Comerci, Matthew Ross Crafton, Travel Dawn, Emilie Lind Damkjær, DenniiStar Illustrations, Dungeon Secrets, Lin Enling, explodingcrayon, Wouter Florusse, David Frasheski, grandfailure, Grim Press, My Đinh Hà, John Latta, liuzishan, Anna Perci, Eden Sanders, Carla Puerta, Purple Duck Games, Bruno Rodjak, Roselysium, thanawong, Lydia Van Hoy, Dheeraj Verma, Quico Vicens-Picatto, Frankie Washington, Simon Wong, Laura Zi Cartographers: Abbie Hines, Dyson Logos Sensitivity Readers: Michelle Churchill, Andrew Headley, James John Additional Writing: Chris Bachelder, Francis Bagley, Ben, John Bookwalter Jr., Michael Bronson, Billy Carpenter, Brandon Corey, Lewis Coyne, Kristy Dalangini, Brittney Hay, Will Kitcher, Luke McClung, Magnus Rock, Brice T., Drew Wood

My Affiliate Link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/338169/Supers--Sorcery--5e-Campaign-Setting?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Sebs, as always you are a darling in leaving us such kind words. Thank you so so much!
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates